Ratatouille Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I've never had ratatouille before, so I wasn't sure what I was to be expecting-but it's a nice refreshing dish. I only made half of what the recipe originally called for. I left out the eggplant, the boyfriend and I just plain don't care for it no matter how we prepare it. Used two zucchini to kind of make up for the eggplant, plus we LOVE zucchini. I did not layer it, I mixed everything together and put the tomatoes on top. Added just a touch more cheese, like I do with practically everything. I think the biggest change I made that would help this dish is ADD some seasoning! Had I not, I feel I would have been rather disappointed. I served over some white rice. It's not a 5 star dish, but for the amount of effort it took it's something I would again make after a long day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitwhit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This is wonderful! We did not have mushrooms, so didn't use them. We added fresh garlic and egg plant. We used garlic salt only on two layers with no other salt... great recipe. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is a wonderful vegetarian dish. I followed the recipe as written except to reduce the cheese a bit and saute the onion after the eggplant. I served over couscous as a main dish meal. My only quibble is that all these veggies would never fit into a 1 1/2 qt casserole. I cooked it in an 11 x 7 dish. The recipe does not say whether to cover the dish, but I did based on other reviews, taking the cover off the last 15 mins. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
w0w.thanks^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Made the recipe for a dinner part but had to triple the ingredients. What I would have liked in the directions was the new cooking time. As it was I did not cook it long enough so what was cooked was the eggplant but all the other veggies were par cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Best ratatouille recipe that I have made. I loved having the layers rather than cubes. I did switch out fresh tomatoes and used canned fire roasted tomatoes instead. I also added a layer of yellow summer squash. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Yesterday I called my sister-in-law and asked what she had planned for dinner. I told her I planned to make Ratatouille and there would be way to much for us, so come over and get a portion for her dinner as my veggie contribution. Lots of chopping and the baking dish was over full but the results...... well it didn't last long. My sister-in-law picked up her portion and we almost polished off the rest. I made it exactly as written without changes and served with chicken. It was delicious and I got a call asking when I would be making it again. lol I told her SOON. She had never heard of the dish so I told her the Disney story and she is now looking for the movie. Too funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn Hunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Point Edward, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Love this! You just cannot mess up ratatouille. I especially loved seeing my whole family go back for seconds. It's one of my favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
so delicious!! fun, fast, and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
When you add meat, it makes this non-ratatouille btw, defeats the pupose so to speak. I think people are confused on the salt. Since the proper way to cook this, is layers, very lightly salt each layer (key lightly) or I have found Mrs Dash every other layer compliments. As with a cooking is balance, so need to have the layers tasting consistantly. Also note, the layering was done because each vegetable has different cook times and the layers closest to the heat, would be the ones that needed more cooking (onion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brydaddy the Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shepherd, Michigan, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 689) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ratatouille

Summer’s tastiest vegetables converge in this classic casserole.

Disney’s Ratatouille

Colorful vegetables bake in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States