Ratatouille Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Yum! This is the first time I enjoyed my own preparation of eggplant (though I keep trying). So glad I've got leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Great recipe! I do not like eggplant, but was so happy I tried this! Used tomato sauce for paste, fresh basil--not thyme, and didn't have any red/yellow peppers on hand. Tasted amazing with all adjustments. Love how flexible this recipe is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Yum Yum Yum! Great Italian Flavors. My family was never a fan of eggplant until tonight when I served Lynette's Ratatouille. I personally love eggplant parmesan and other eggplant dishes, but never could get anyone to join in happily. -- In the past, I had been curious about the great reviews that ratatouille usually generate, but with draining, sauteeing, and baking, all after a good deal of chopping, it seemed a daunting task. These days I'm more adept with a knife, and this recipe did not call for salting and draining any veggies.... That appealed to me. Tried it this way ***but baked the casserole in an oversized 'baking stone' type casserole to enhance evaporation***. We did have a few juices in the bottom of the casserole, but not a problem at all. We simply served with a slotted spoon. The tomatoes which were purchased to go with the eggplant and zucchini were already eaten up yesterday when I wasn't looking, so I subbed canned, diced tomatoes. I was concerned about that substitution, but it worked out just fine. Served on a bed of brown rice with Connie's Zucchini 'Crab' Cakes (baked not fried) from this site and a side salad. Gobs of veggies all across the plate, but it felt like an old fashioned, comfort food, meaty meal. The 12 yo (our youngest) had seconds of everything - eggplant too!!! Thanks Lynette & allrecipes.com, for another healthier meal on our rotation! Yum, yum, yum, yum, yum, yum, yum.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Really great recipe. I use herbs de Provence in place of the parsley. There is a lot of liquid with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I have no idea how authentic it is since I'd never had ratatouille before I made this, but I must say this was fantastic, and very easy to put together. The only change I made was to use romano cheese instead of parmesan, and I probably used a lot more than the recipe called for since I had a big bag of it and just grabbed handfuls of it to sprinkle between layers, but the end result was very nice. My husband wasn't incredibly keen on it because he hates eggplant, but even he thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I love this recipe. It's quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is a little difficult to review. only changes I made was to add some fresh thyme and rosemary when I added the parsley. I served it as a main dish with some crusty bread. It tasted really good and my 3 year old ate it without a fight (which is a HUGE feat). I really liked the eggplant too and I am NOT a big fan of eggplant usually. I am looking forward to making it again. only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because it didn't really stand alone and its a lot of work for just a side dish. we ate the leftovers over pasta and marinara and that gave it a bit more substance. Its too much work to be a "go to" week day meal BUT I have most of the ingredients growing in my garden so I do plan on making this often this summer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Delicious - cooked covered and lots of sauce. Served with Angel Hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I didn't have any mushrooms or green pepper but I followed the recipe otherwise. It was awesome. We love it! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
We had this last week and it was a hit! I added a drained can of garbanzo beans, about 1 teaspoon of basil and a teaspoon of oregano plus a splash of white wine. I'm making it again this week. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ratatouille

Summer’s tastiest vegetables converge in this classic casserole.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Disney’s Ratatouille

Colorful vegetables bake in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States