Ratatouille Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
When you add meat, it makes this non-ratatouille btw, defeats the pupose so to speak. I think people are confused on the salt. Since the proper way to cook this, is layers, very lightly salt each layer (key lightly) or I have found Mrs Dash every other layer compliments. As with a cooking is balance, so need to have the layers tasting consistantly. Also note, the layering was done because each vegetable has different cook times and the layers closest to the heat, would be the ones that needed more cooking (onion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brydaddy the Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shepherd, Michigan, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This is the absolute BEST ratatouille recipe ever! Even though the preparation for this dish can be time consuming, it is so worth it. The different layers of cheese and vegetables is the best, and it is so flavorful. Even the liquid that was created from all the veggies roasting was good! We had leftovers, so we just kept it in the same pan and reheated it in the oven the next night, turned out great. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Cooked it for the first time tonight, following the recipe exactly with two changes. Ain't no way you can get all that in a 1.5 qt dish, I used a 13x9 which is 3qt dish and it was stacked over the top and I cooked it for a full hour and covered it with foil the last 20 minutes or so. I will be fixing it again and will be adding different graded cheeses along with the Parmesan. A friend has already suggested adding a few pieces of Italian sausage. But as it is it's definitely a keeper and will definitely be doing it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Need 2 things: fresh basil and fresh parsley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Very very good. I must confess, I made my version by starting out with Italian sausage for a more hearty main dish. Everything else was according to the recipe. It was awesome. I also sautéd the onions prior to constructing. I did the layering as suggested in the recipe. Will make again. It was pretty time consuming to do all that chopping and slicing but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Try roasting the vegetables single layer on sheet pans until tender crisp and lightly browned, instead of baking or sauteeing., then mix them all together with their juices and fresh herbs. I do the tomatoes separately, for less time. The caramelization really ramps up the flavor and uses less oil (and less hands-on time). So versatile - hot or cold, with parmesan or mozzarella, stuffed in a pita or by itself. I make this all year round, but it's heavenly with summer farm stand vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Saute onions and green pepper WITH the eggplant and garlic for maximum flavor and sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I followed the ingredients of this recipe, but used fresh herbs - basil and parsley, because I had them - and I omitted the mushrooms, because I didn't have any. It turned out wonderfully! This was our main dish on Meatless Monday, with some fresh green beans and crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clark Chesser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Loved this recipe. I followed instructions pretty close. My husband who can't stand eggplant said "Wow this is really good!" It took much longer than the 45 minutes. I baked it for additional 20 minutes then upped oven to 400 degrees for about 5-10 minutes. It was really good. Next time, I am adding more eggplant and using a larger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Ratatouille was on my daughter's bucket list and we finally made it. It was a Hit!!! It even tasted better the next day with garlic bread. A delicious and full satisfying meal. I omitted the tomatoes and next time I would go less on the grated Parmesan cheese. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmdcrowder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ratatouille

Summer’s tastiest vegetables converge in this classic casserole.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Disney’s Ratatouille

Colorful vegetables bake in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States