Ratatouille Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Try roasting the vegetables single layer on sheet pans until tender crisp and lightly browned, instead of baking or sauteeing., then mix them all together with their juices and fresh herbs. I do the tomatoes separately, for less time. The caramelization really ramps up the flavor and uses less oil (and less hands-on time). So versatile - hot or cold, with parmesan or mozzarella, stuffed in a pita or by itself. I make this all year round, but it's heavenly with summer farm stand vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Saute onions and green pepper WITH the eggplant and garlic for maximum flavor and sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I followed the ingredients of this recipe, but used fresh herbs - basil and parsley, because I had them - and I omitted the mushrooms, because I didn't have any. It turned out wonderfully! This was our main dish on Meatless Monday, with some fresh green beans and crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clark Chesser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Loved this recipe. I followed instructions pretty close. My husband who can't stand eggplant said "Wow this is really good!" It took much longer than the 45 minutes. I baked it for additional 20 minutes then upped oven to 400 degrees for about 5-10 minutes. It was really good. Next time, I am adding more eggplant and using a larger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Ratatouille was on my daughter's bucket list and we finally made it. It was a Hit!!! It even tasted better the next day with garlic bread. A delicious and full satisfying meal. I omitted the tomatoes and next time I would go less on the grated Parmesan cheese. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmdcrowder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, but the finished product had no flavor. It was just a pile of watery and somewhat soggy vegetables. Unfortunately it didn't live up to all the rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I've never cooked with eggplant before, and the one I used ended up being pretty bitter. I'd try it again and hope I get a better eggplant. I added fresh thyme and rosemary, and that was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimée Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I had to use a 3 quart casserole dish. There was no way to fit it in a 1.5 quart dish. This recipe needs some more flavor besides salt and parmesan cheese. I think next time I would use some other herbs and saute all of the vegetables, not just the eggplant and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I think this recipe could use a few improvements, great base but it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
The ingredients as portioned will not fit into a 1.5 quart casserole dish (they barely fit in a 3 quart). That aside, I found this recipe rather nice. Aside from some minor tweaks it stands up quite well as a dish on its own or over pasta. I added a sprinkle of parsley, black pepper, and oregano every other layer the second time I made it and was quite happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ratatouille

Summer’s tastiest vegetables converge in this classic casserole.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Disney’s Ratatouille

Colorful vegetables bake in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States