Ratatouille Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
First of all, WAY too much salt! You don't have to add a bunch of salt to each layer, as shown in the video. Most Parmesan cheeses are salty enough. Fresh parsley is a bonus if you have it. Saute the onions after the garlic, parsley and eggplant so they are not overbearing in the final dish. The eggplant can be cut into rounds, laid on a paper towel, slightly salted and covered with another paper towel to remove bitter taste and to reduce moisture. This avoids the ratatouille soup ending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I made this recipe last night just as it is--after I baked it I drained much of the juice out of the bottom of the casserole. I then mixed some of it with cooked rice. Today I mixed more of it with spaghetti. Very delicious both ways with a little extra parm. cheese sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
way too much salt and the garlic was added too soon, I added it when the eggplant was almost done. I agree with the other post about the onions, they won't cook properly if added to the dish raw. I cut back on the cheese, thought that was a bit too much. Other than that...lol it was very nice. I just noticed the other posts...seems I'm 20 years late...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Good advice Melanie (Booth)! Haven't tried it yet so wasn't going to star rate it but seems I cannot comment until I do rate it (strange), so I shall give it a 4 star rating (without even having tried it yet!!!) but when I do try it, I shall do it exactly like Melanie suggests. Sounds delicious! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stonington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This is delicious! It's a simple meatless meal. I think it's best to layer the eggplant in slices on the bottom and the tomatoes on top. That way the eggplant soaks up the juices and the tomatoes are roasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Didn't like it. The eggplant flavored all the other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjcmartin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Great way to get me to eat my vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Thank you Lynette Marie - a perfect dish after a visit to our local farmer's market - definitely a keeper. Our only change was to use fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 628) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ratatouille

Summer’s tastiest vegetables converge in this classic casserole.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Disney’s Ratatouille

Colorful vegetables bake in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States