Rasta Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is an amazing dish. If you are looking for something different to do with chicken this is it. My son loved it! If you don't like a lot of "heat" I suggest you leave out the red pepper flakes or only use 1/4 tsp. I only made half of this recipe as there is only 2 of us eating and with 1/2 tsp we had the heat. We like heat so that did not bother us. I used Barilla Marinara for the sauce. We will make this again. You want to serve with a slice of bread for the "heat". My kitchen smelled wonderful while cooking. I did this meal in my wok that goes on top my stove. I did use olive oil for browning the chicken. Also it says just heat through after adding sauce, I actually let it cook for about 15 min or so. I wanted all my flavors to meld. LEFTOVER IDEA.. MMMMM... I am thinking taking the sauce mixture with chicken and putting on sub bun with moz or bleu cheese and under broiler.. wow.. or in a tortilla for a wrap..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Hausgemacht
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Magnificent! I had one jar of Ragu Garden combination sauce only. So I substituted with one 15oz. can Diced stewed tomatoes.Blended both well in a large bowl. No other changes.The stewed tomatoes I believe,added body and texture.Not just a saucy look.My wife and kids loved it so much we took a picture of it.So much good flavor,so little time to prepare.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was really good. I changed a few minor things (didn't use all the types of peppers and substituded julienned squash for the yellow bells) but it was amazing. I used homemade blackened mix that I got from a recipe on here as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tovlakas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Great spin on pasta, it was refreshing trying something different than just the usual pasta covered in sauce. I actually used rotini instead of penne pasta to give it that extra "rasta" look. I probably won't stop saying rasta pasta anytime soon either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheDormChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was wonderful! I actually followed the recipe to the letter. It was as good as anything I go to a restaraunt and pay quite a bit of money for. It was easy, but it tasted like it cooked all day. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This was absolutely delicious! I love spicy food and was sure to use extra spice to make it even hotter! Before adding the pasta sauce, I tried a piece of chicken, and if it wasn't for self control, the pasta sauce would have never made it into the saucepan. I cut the chicken breast pieces into cubes rather than long strips and added more red pepper flakes, but other than that, followed the recipe. Highly, highly recommended for all those spice lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This dish was really good. My husband and I both really love spicy food and this was right up our alley. I used linguinie noodles instead of penne. I would recommend using two bottles of sauce if you use a thicker pasta. I used a vodka tomato sauce instead of a basic spaghetti . Next time I would only use 1 tablespoon of cajun seasoning because i thought using two made the chicken kind of salty.... Overall it was a really good recipe that you can tweak to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Wow! This was super hot! It was a big hit with the family but next time I will cut back on the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
very good! I used shrimp instead of chicken because my husband is allergic to poultry (can you imagine not being able to cook with chicken or chicken broth!) and it turned out really yummy - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rainess Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was a pretty good meal. Didn't have the yellow pepper and I used a variety of spices. I liked the kick and the fact that it was a different pasta meal. I feel like laughing everytime I say "rasta pasta," but the kids think it's fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States