Rasta Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Great hit with the entire family, and a fun diversion on pasta and red sauce. Tonight, I had all the ingredients except green pepper, so I substituted yellow squash, and otherwise followed recipe other than using olive oil instead of butter and serving red pepper flakes to top after after serving. (Okay, I also probably used twice as much curry, since we halved the recipe for the four of us.) We're a household of spicy food fans, so didn't need bread to dilute the heat. Delightful twist to regular pasta and sauce! I used a can of Hunt's herb & garlic pasta sauce. I loved the freshness of the peppers and the yellow squash I added, which is great in this, after a quick stir-fry, so I wouldn't simmer for 15 min., as suggested by another review. HINT: Get water boiling for pasta, and throw pasta into boil AFTER browning and setting chicken aside. Everything should be finished at about the same time. Definite make-again for us! Loved the easy one-pot cleanup, too. Thanks, Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Cooks in St. Pete

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
We had a restaurant here named Rasta Pasta and they used wet Jamaican Jerk seasoning. You can find it online. You can still add the curry powder and garlic. We use garlic, a can of tomatoes some basil and jerk seasoning with the chicken over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Very tasty just as written. I had used a similar recipe before but this one is much "prettier" for a perfect presentation. I didn't use curry after the first batch but that's just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Tried this recipe as is. Found it good but the flavour between the pasta and the sauce to be flat. Liked the blackened chicken but rest just tasted like I cooked the pasta, threw in the sauce & served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Nice twist on traditional pasta. Me and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This is the same picture used for recipe "Blackened Chicken Pasta"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Wonderful recipe, as is. A family favorite. However, it has nothing to do with traditional vegetarian Jamaican Rasta Pasta, which includes ackee and no curry powder or cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Fantastic sauce! I could have licked my plate clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Very good I really like the spice of this dish. I just wish it wasn't 103 outside when I chose to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I have made this recipe about five times so far. The only thing I usually change up is that sometimes I serve it over different types of pasta besides penne or even over rice. Even better the next day. It is pretty straightforward, if you like the ingredients that go into this dish you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States