Raspberry Walnut Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
Excellent cake to impress others. Anybody could make this cake with outstanding results - however I needed at least another hour of time to have the cake turn out like the photo. The effort is definitely worth the results. Cake doesn't rise as high and the frosting isn't as impressive in hot, humid weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Absolutely delicious! At first I thought it was going to be a disaster because both cake layers fell apart as I was removing them from the pans. I had to kind of patch them up and skip the step of slicing them in half and putting icing between them. In spite of that, it turned out great, and every one wanted seconds! My mother is picky when it comes to cakes, but she raved about this one! Works great as a birthday cake because you can pipe a message on top in place of the lattice design. Next time I will probably use parchment paper to make the cake easier to remove from the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I've made this cake multipe times and everbody loves it. I use pecans instead of walnuts because of a slight allergy, but other than that follow the recipe exactly. A little time consuming, but always worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I have made this cake many times and have recieved rave reviews every time! I'ts easy to make, but it does take a little time to frost if the weather is hot. I have found that if it is summer and I am making this, I stick it in my deep freezer a few times during frosting it to make sure the frosting doesn't slip down the side. I also toast my walnuts for a bit for a richer taste. This is not only a great tasting cake, but presentation can't be beat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This got rave reviews from the staff at my daughter's school. It's delicious. I did have problems with the icing sticking to the sides. It tastes wonderful and looks almost too good to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 221BBAKERSTREET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frostburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Berryville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
TREESALIA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This cake was amazingly delicious. The recipe for the icing alone makes it spectacular. It's best feature was that it was not overly sweet the way many cakes can be. Made it for a party and it was a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emilyanne
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I made this for a party and it was a huge sucess. Used crushed almonds instead - very good. Also had trouble getting it out of the pan intact even though well greased. Luckily, frosting is forgiving :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Awesome cake! We made it with almonds and fresh raspberries, and it was outstanding. I love using cream instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This cake is truly fantastic. I even make the raspberry jam from scratch because most store-bought jams are too sweet and not "fruity" enough for me. Women: this cake will yield marriage proposals!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Raspberry Pain au Chocolat

These raspberry chocolate croissants are elegant and delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States