Raspberry Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
An excellent dessert - well received by all who tried it. I followed the suggestion to use additional raspberries, combining a package of unsweetened berries with one in a light syrup, an d then eliminated the 6 T sugar. In the future, I would also try the suggestion from another tiramisu recipe to substitute mascarpone for 2pkgs cream cheese blended with 1/2 c heavy cream and 5 T sour cream, as the mascarpone is quite expensive for the minimal flavour it imparts. As I was not cooking at home, I had no pastry brush available and simply dipped the coookies in the Grand Marnier syrup which seemed to work quite well. I also used fresh raspberry as a garnish and additional chocolate curls. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
Awesome...or as my little girl says "It's like heaven in my mouth!" Following other tips, I did reduce amount of sugar in berries, plus doubled the amount (works best with fresh berries). I too increased the chocolate curls as I didn't really taste the chocolate the first time I made this. Substituted Blackberry Brandy I had in house for the Grand Marnier I didn't have handy. Worked fine. The marscapone substitute another reader suggested was outrageous, even better than true marscapone! This recipe is easy and delicious! Thanks Den!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I liked the idea of the flavors in this tiramisu, but it was way too soggy for me. I used thawed frozen raspberries, so I might not have drained them enough... so if you use frozen, make sure not to use the juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This twist on a classic is a very delicate dessert. I changed it a very little bit, by layering 1 layer of ladyfingers soaked in the syrup, 1 layer of the mascarpone mixture, 1/2 of the fruit (I used thawed frozen mixed berries), 1 more layer of soaked ladyfingers, remaining berries and remaining mascarpone mixture. I dusted this all with cocoa powder and sprinkled a little chopped caramelized peanuts. Delicious, but I'll give a try to the recipe as described in the recipe. From coming back from shopping to cleaning dishes, it only took 20 minutes! Oh, and, yes, it yields more than 6 servings (I'd say 8-10).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
An absolutely delicious spin on traditional tiramisú, ideal for summer; I made 1 1/2 times the amount for a party, and it disappeared. I used the best raspberries I could lay my hands on, and they lifted the dessert into another realm altogether. One hint though? As much as I love chocolate, in my opinion, this doesn't need it. And it was nothing to do with the quality of the chocolate I used - I just think it adds nothing to it, and the next times I make it will be without it. JSPAHN, maybe you haven't had tiramisú before, because it's quite clearly not baked; the way I see it, you're going to die anyway from all that creamy richness so you might as well not worry, but if the thought of uncooked eggs makes you nervous, there are plenty of recipes out there for tiramisú featuring a cooked sabayon (egg yolk mixture) and Italian or Swiss (ie. cooked) meringue. Just be forewarned that you will be sacrificing some creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
delicious. this recipe makes alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
This was very tasty indeed. The only reason I gave it a 4 is because instead of using all those eggs I will use whipping cream added to the cheese. I also used coffee liqour because that is what I had & I didn't add water and sugar to it. I also used fresh berries and 'less' sugar raspberry jam mashed up. I also grated a little chocolate on top, which it really didn't need and added no nuts. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Really easy, really yummy. I did temper the egg yolks before beating, but otherwise follwed the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Superb! Absolutely delicious! I made 1.5 times the recipe for a dinner party but found the Grand Marnier syrup did not need to be increased. Still had plenty for the increased number of Ladyfingers. Got rave reviews - Thanks Den!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This recipe was very good and I made it for a large group so doubled it. However it was a lot of work to do with a whole dinner party so I probably won't make again unless on a very special occasion. I used frozen mixed berries and it was even better than just raspberries alone. Vanilla was called for in the recipe but never saw where to add it and I couldn't figure out what the crushed berries at the beginning were for - just FYI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chef John's Tiramisu

A true classic! Coffee-dipped ladyfingers and layers of luxurious creaminess.

Raspberry Pain au Chocolat

These raspberry chocolate croissants are elegant and delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States