Raspberry Summer Pudding (English Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I did not actually make this, my friend did for me for my birthday, while she used mixed berries rather than just raspberries, I must say...it was divine!!!!! I loved it :) Great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Easy to make and uses ingredients that most people have around the house, with the exception of the fresh raspberries. I used frozen raspberries, which I think created too much juice. Also, the amount of sugar seems high, especially if served with sweetened whipped cream. But all in all an easy and delicious recipe. I had to dig into it before it was done because I couldn't wait any longer to try some! I haven't even dumped it out of the bowl yet, so I don't know what it will look like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I had this dessert recently in England and it was delicious so thanks Clinton for posting it. Because I'm on Weight Watchers, I changed the recipe by using 6 cups of mixed berries, and 1/2 cup Splenda in place of the sugar. It also took 7 slices of bread. I used a slotted spoon to remove the berries from the pot into the bowl and then saved the reserved juice to pour over top of the pudding before adding a tablespoon of fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This is great. I used a mixture of fresh raspberries, blackberries, red currants, blueberries and strawberries. The sugar content may seem large, however it is used to give the fruit a jam like consistancy and helps the desert set up. If you are not wanting to use as much sugar, substitute some of the sugar with gelatine or vegetarian equivalent (follow the packet directions), remembering that you will need to add some water as the sugar does provide some liquid once disolved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mooroolbark, Victoria, Australia
Living In: The Basin, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This is very odd looking when set and turned onto plate, yet sooooo wonderful, a real taste treat. I realized too late that the reason for a weight on top was to encourage the top slice of bread to soak up juice, and my weight (a small plate) was not heavy enough. Oh well, juast a speed bump on the road to a heavenly dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Princeton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I was a little hesitant about the slices of bread but this was very tasty and really easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I didn't have fresh raspberries, so I used 1 1/2 cups of strawberries and 2 banana's with whole wheat bread instead of white then added a little cinnamon. Everyone LOVED this. Reminds me of bread pudding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hugo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I also used whole wheat bread (it was fresh ground, whole wheat bread that was a bit crusty). WOW,it was delicious! I could not stop eating it, and even my kids gobbled it up. Easy, delicious, and mostly healthy, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onbutnotof

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was a little too sweet for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This was very easy to make and set perfectly. The flavor was all right, but it did essentially taste of berries, sugar, and bread. Serving with vanilla ice cream or some sort of cream is a must, to cut the sugary sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Gan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Raspberry Pain au Chocolat

These raspberry chocolate croissants are elegant and delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States