Raspberry Star Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I've been on AR for years & I think this is the 1st review I've written! I bought raspberry preserves and then searched for a recipe to use it in when I came across this. I've been looking for a good cut-out recipe for years and I think I've finally found it! I loved that I didn't have to refrigerate the dough and wait hours, I could just mix it and roll it right away! Based on the other reviews I added the almond extract and it was perfect. I made the first batch into stars with the raspberry preserves but I am also going to make another batch and just decorate as a plain cut-out cookie. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Dean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I put 1 tsp of almond extract in the dough instead of the glaze. I found the dough too dry and it would not roll, so I added an extra egg and it was perfect. If you don't want the dough to have a flour-like taste you can sprinkle icing sugar down and use it on the rolling pin. It only takes a little. I then dusted the cookies with icing sugar when they came out of the oven. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Searchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morinville, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
These cookies are delicious and beautiful! I gave it 4 stars because the cookies are pretty time-consuming, and the recipe doesn't make nearly as many cookies as it claims, I've found. The cookies and icing are both fantastic. I make these for Christmas every year and use a variety of preserves (my dad loves apricot!). I make stars, snowflakes, bells, gingerbread men, and whatever other shapes I have lying around. I get lots of compliments on these every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I made these by cutting the dough into circles using a clean cap from a can of spray starch - frugal and ingenious, huh? LOL Then I cut a small star shape using a very small star-shaped metal cookie cutter into the middles of the top circles. This made assembling the cookies easier while still making them pretty. I also skipped the icing and added 1 tsp of almond extract to the dough. I dusted the finished cookies with powdered sugar as did another reader, making them look rather like old-fashioned Lindzer (sp?) cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I used marionberry jelly instead of raspberry and everyone loved them. They were a tad dry though. But the icing was really good, and all together it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I love this recipe. I made similar cookies a few years ago but, I like this recipe better where you make the sandwiches before you bake them. It gives the jam a slightly chewy consistency like cookies I get at the italian bakery. I like to make a couple of variations. I usually put a little of the almond extract in the cookies instead of in a glaze. Also, for a more decadent cookie I also like to melt some semi-sweet chocolate and drizzle that on the cookies after they have cooled. The chocolate-raspberry flavor combination is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
They tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
All around it was good, my only complaint was with the dough. I tried chilling it and that didn't work well. I tried just rolling it out and it took a great deal of flour to keep it from sticking. You can taste all of that flour in the cookie, but they are still good. Chilling it made it too tough. Hmm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
these cookies are delicious. i had to roll the dough out about 1/2 inch because it was so flimsy... even then the dough was still deforming when transferring. also, i think it's a good idea to put the preservatives after the cookies have been baked. some of my top cookies slightly slided off the bottom ones because of the jam, making an unexpected change of shapes. (i baked mine until i saw brown edges... just because i don't like that "raw-ish" batter taste.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
These were great. I loved the almond taste, although it was almost too strong in the glaze. They looked beautiful and were really good! Great for a holiday gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States