Raspberry Squares II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This was not very good, none of us liked it. Once it was cooled we tried it and it tasted like a cobbler thats to dry and stale. The dough was really thick, way to heavy, maybe I did something wrong, but it just came out bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Found that the time to bake was a little too long for my oven, but I also had decreased the serving size, so that may have had something to do with it. I just kept my eye on the squares though and it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Delicious! These turned out great and were really easy. I used an 8oz jar of preserves and it was just the right amount. I will make two other changes next time: use a 9-inch pan and add 1/2 tsp salt to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
So tasty and summery. I made them with blackberry jam -- an 8oz jar -- and used almonds and the zest of a lemon in the crust. Such a perfect picnic dessert. For me, though, it was too sweet.. but that would be solved by using fresh, sugared fruit, rather than jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Excellent and very easy---take it from someone that can't bake. Followed the recipe as is and it was wonderful--fyi--don't flatten the mixture before putting it in the baking dish because then it becomes really difficult to spread, leave it grainy and THEN flatten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Very good. I doubled the recipe and put in a 9x13 pan which yeilded a thick base (about 1") and plenty for topping. I also cooked these on my grill (pan is pyrex) at about 400 for 30 min and they did just fine. It was over 90 outside so I didn't want to heat up my kitchen. Overall these are great, and actually stay together (some bars seem to crumble, these do just fine). Next time I make them I am going to experiment with using less butter & wheat flour, simply to "healthy" them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
My family loved these, we made them dairy free by using Nucoa and used apricot jam which I liked way better than the raspberry. I also thought they needed a little bit more jam and would only save about 1 cup for the top, but w'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant View, Utah, USA
Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
The best!!! my mother couldn't stop eating this scrumptious squares. Substituted chopped almonds for walnuts. Ooooohhhhh...... I forgot about my balanced diet for a couple of days, lol. Hmmmmmm, next time i'm going to try different kinds of fruit jam...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Photo by luv2bakecookies
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
They are wonderful. The only different thing I did was double the recipe as well as add a tsp. of salt. I find that salt really balances the flavor of all baked goods. Ok, so I did a couple of other things too. I added a little vanilla and only because I didn't have enough rasberry jam, I divided up the pan with rasberry, then apricot and finally a blueberry jam. The out come was 3 fantastic different cookies. Make sure to cut them small. They are incredibly rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bakecookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
very good kids liked it, and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coffeen, Illinois, USA
Living In: Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States