Raspberry Sour Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Very different pie. I made it just as written. Will make again.Held together perfect when cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Awesome! The sour cream turns into a custard-like texture which is really great. My pie was quite tart, but I bet that varies depending on your raspberry batch. I used pre-sliced almonds instead of walnuts and they came out great -- really added to the taste. I accidentally baked the filling and topping all at the same time, but it came out looking beautiful -- everyone thought the pie was store-bought! Without altering filling or topping quantities, this yielded one overflowing, delicious, gone-in-five-seconds pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This is a great pie recipe. I make homemade pies all the time and this is a keeper. My only change on this recipe is that the filling ingredients either need to be doubled to make 2 pies or use the amounts listed and only make 1 pie. The topping amounts are enough for two pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz O

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
We usually have excess raspberries in late summer and I came across this recipe when looking for a good way to use them up! I have made it at least 25 times. Every time I serve it, everyone asks for the recipe. It is a good one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This cooked up well & looked delicious but didn't taste the same. As written there was only enough filling for one pie. The filling has too many raspberries (I even reduced them to 2 cups) which makes the flavour too tart & gritty with all the raspberry seeds. I also felt the pastry & the crumble topping combined was too much. Would be better to just do the pastry & filling or cook the filling in individual ramekins and top with the crumble. Doubt I will make again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Yum, I'll make this again. I used frozen blueberries instead of raspberries. I omitted the walnuts in the topping. I'm giving it 4 stars because it was so flat, there was barely enough filling for the pie. So it wasnt as pretty either. I would probably double or 1 1/2 the filling next time. Worth making though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
We did not like this. If you make this, don't listen to the reviews that say to make 1 pie, follow the recipe & make 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Very easy, Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purr2me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Incredible recipe! I used the entire filling for just one pie (used the Pastry and Pie Bible cream cheese pie crust recipe--yum!). The tart raspberries definitely keep the pie from being too sweet. The pie looked and tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This was an awesome recipe---NOTE: I followed this recipe and fit all of it into a 10-in pan. The recipe says it makes two pies---if I divided it up for two pies, it would not have been very deep. Also--I doubled the crumbly stuff on top and used mostly almonds instead of walnuts. The inside of the pie is a little tart and sweet and the topping is sweet--balances it out for a delicious treat!!! Very unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicksprincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States