Raspberry Sour Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Awesome! The sour cream turns into a custard-like texture which is really great. My pie was quite tart, but I bet that varies depending on your raspberry batch. I used pre-sliced almonds instead of walnuts and they came out great -- really added to the taste. I accidentally baked the filling and topping all at the same time, but it came out looking beautiful -- everyone thought the pie was store-bought! Without altering filling or topping quantities, this yielded one overflowing, delicious, gone-in-five-seconds pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This is a great pie recipe. I make homemade pies all the time and this is a keeper. My only change on this recipe is that the filling ingredients either need to be doubled to make 2 pies or use the amounts listed and only make 1 pie. The topping amounts are enough for two pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz O

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
We usually have excess raspberries in late summer and I came across this recipe when looking for a good way to use them up! I have made it at least 25 times. Every time I serve it, everyone asks for the recipe. It is a good one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This cooked up well & looked delicious but didn't taste the same. As written there was only enough filling for one pie. The filling has too many raspberries (I even reduced them to 2 cups) which makes the flavour too tart & gritty with all the raspberry seeds. I also felt the pastry & the crumble topping combined was too much. Would be better to just do the pastry & filling or cook the filling in individual ramekins and top with the crumble. Doubt I will make again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Yum, I'll make this again. I used frozen blueberries instead of raspberries. I omitted the walnuts in the topping. I'm giving it 4 stars because it was so flat, there was barely enough filling for the pie. So it wasnt as pretty either. I would probably double or 1 1/2 the filling next time. Worth making though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
We did not like this. If you make this, don't listen to the reviews that say to make 1 pie, follow the recipe & make 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Very easy, Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purr2me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Incredible recipe! I used the entire filling for just one pie (used the Pastry and Pie Bible cream cheese pie crust recipe--yum!). The tart raspberries definitely keep the pie from being too sweet. The pie looked and tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This was an awesome recipe---NOTE: I followed this recipe and fit all of it into a 10-in pan. The recipe says it makes two pies---if I divided it up for two pies, it would not have been very deep. Also--I doubled the crumbly stuff on top and used mostly almonds instead of walnuts. The inside of the pie is a little tart and sweet and the topping is sweet--balances it out for a delicious treat!!! Very unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicksprincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
For a raspberry pie, this sure is tasty. I used raspberries from our garden and followed the recipe exactly. Made two pies in one week, both were gone very quickly. Everyone kept saying how good it was. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States