Raspberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I skipped the 3rd step entirely! I used one box of thawed Birdseye's frozen raspberries, and they mashed quite simply during the heating / stirring process. I found the consistency was just right, so there was no need to use a blender to puree & no need to do any straining through a sieve. (If you don't have corn starch on hand, note that the same amount of potato starch worked just fine.) As a raspberry lover I will be making this sauce over and over again--it's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I've made this both ways, with and without the third step, and I found that the puree/strain results in a better sauce. It's not bad the other way, but it's better when the recipe is followed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I also used frozen raspberries, skipped 3rd step and added a little more sugar to our taste. Thank You so much for posting this EASY and Delicious recipe. I wanted to bake a very special birthday cake and I used this raspberry sauce as a filling for a doulble layer chocolate cake, frosted with a butter cream cheese frosting, topped with a few whole raspberries and chocolate shavings. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingWithASmile

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
A good, but rather ordinary raspberry sauce I had hoped would be a little different with the addition of the orange juice. It was not nearly sweet enough which is easy to fix, but the real disappointment was that the orange juice wasn't even noticeable. Still, it's a good, basic sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Delish! I used frozen raspberries. I took the Philadelphia Ready-to-Eat cheesecake filling, stirred in Amaretto to taste, poured that in individual graham cracker shells, then put this sauce on top by putting it in a baggie, cutting the corner off and squeezing stripes on the cheesecake. VERY tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I used frozen raspberries in this recipe and Truvia sweetener (six packets of Truvia is equal to 1/4 cup granulated sugar). I didn't bother to puree this sauce as I wanted a chunkier sauce to spoon over homemade waffles. Everything about this sauce was perfect. Not too sweet with a touch of tartness--it went perfectly with the waffles I made. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Great recipe. I omitted the oj and added 1/3 of a cup of sugar instead of a 1/4 as I used fresh berries and they were a bit more tart. At first I was nervous when the sauce looked cloudy due to the starch, but I let it cook down, blended it and then strained it and it looked perfect. I even added 3 tablespoons of this to the "Best Lemonade Ever" recipe for berry lemonade and drizzled some over the white chocolate cheesecake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Frozen raspberries worked well in this. Thaw, strain the juice, and use it as part of the water it calls for. It came out beautifully. The tartness was the perfect complement to my cheesecake. It got raves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Isabel, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is wonderful! We all loved it served over cheese cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I didn't do the last instructions, because I liked the texture it was. I used frozen (thawed) berries--worked great. I might add a little more sugar next time, but it depends on your sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Rehoboth, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States