Raspberry Ribbons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I love these cookies! They look beautiful on a cookie tray. The first time I made them, they broke easily. I tend to like my cookies brown, so I inadvertently over baked them. Now I'm more careful and they come out perfect. Do not use all fruit, or light preserves, they are too thin. I use all preserves, or 1/2 jam and 1/2 preserves. Any flavor works wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
3rd year in a row making these for Christmas and they are perfection! They just need a very light indentation and I stick to the recipe. They are amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leahna Loomis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Really like making these, and they are sooo good, and look pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
These just might be the new favorite Christmas cookie at my house! Easy and delicious. I will double the recipe next time. I added almond extract to the glaze as suggested in other reviews, and it was delicious. I used a chopping blade to cut them while still a little warm, and did't have a problem with crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Bice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
These were very simple to make. I used Smart Balance Buttery Sticks which worked well, almond extract instead of the vanilla...and raspberry preserves. I made MANY of these for a formal cocktail party. For my mass production, I created a system. After baking the rolls 4 minutes on my seasoned baking stone on parchment paper, I used the back of a butter knife to make a shallow, 1/2 " wide groove and piped in the preserves. When the preserves were bubbling a little, but the bars were JUST STARTING to brown on the edges indicating that they were browned on the bottom (10 more minutes in my oven), I transferred by sliding the parchment paper onto a cool, flat, hard cutting surface. When still warm to the touch I piped on the glaze with a #1 Wilton tip (fine) in an even zigzag pattern (BEAUTIFUL)! I used a very sharp large knife to cut through two rolls at once. Everyone was pleased with the taste and the professional looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
made this for Christmas this year too. My 7 yr old daughter & I made them in 1 inch balls, then made thumb print in them after reading the reviews on how the bars would break. They turned out great and everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLE01

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Everyone loved them at Christmas! I made them in circular cookie shapes. And they were the first cookies/dessert items gone. The women all asked for this recipe. Grrrreat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Unbelievable flavor. So light and flaky, you won't get that heavy feeling in your stomach after eating SEVERAL. I made this for my hubby who likes jellied treats, but I do not. These are so good that even I can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These are the most outstanding raspberry cookies EVER! I make a cookie assortment for my family members to give as holiday treats every year, and this one is a favorite! My sister keeps the ones I give to her family all to herself. LOVE them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I have made these 5x now and have some tips. First of all I always double the batch. They go quick because they are so good! I roll 4 balls of dough and then use parchment paper to roll them into logs. I can cook 4 per tray. I use a tray with no lip so they slide off when they are warm. I do move the cooked log around a bit so it doesn't stick at all. About 2-3 minutes after they come out of the over, I cut them straight down using a big knife. I separate the cut cookies by just a bit. I wait another 10 minutes and then ice them. If you icing melts that is okay too, just drizzle some more on when they are cooler. My newest trick is to put the jam in a ziplock bag, mush it around so there are no lumps, snip the corner of the bad and the jam goes on smooth!! These are great cookies for a cookie exchange as they are beautiful and taste great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States