Raspberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I have been using deep dish 9" pans with 4 1/2 cups of berries, 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3 tablespoons of cornstarch and I bake for 45 - 50 minutes at 350 F........everyone loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I made this pie with fresh Raspberries from our garden. Followed the recipe exactly. The pie looked beautiful, smelled great, and I had high hopes for it. It was the first Raspberry pie I'd ever made. Unfortunately, was very disappointed. The flavors were very good - the Raspberries shown and it was just enough sweet/tart for us. But as some other bakers/reviewers have written, it was like soup! My husband was really looking forward to a piece of pie, and I, instead had to serve this in a bowl, and even then it didn't hold up as a cobbler might. It was just JUICE. Had to use a ladle to dish it up. Potentially really good recipe BUT ABSOLUTELY NEEDS MORE CORN STARCH!!! Very disappointing effort this holiday weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JennH327
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Definitely for raspberry lovers. Perfect topped off with a scoop of vanilla icecream. Nice simple recipe to follow, I would add a touch more cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Taste wise, this pie was quite good. However, the inside was so soupy and runny that I ended up having to scoop it out of the pie plate with a ladle. I used a swirled top crust, so I know that there was adequate space for steam to escape. Not sure why it turned out this way. But, all in all, the pie was alright. I might make it again, but if I do I will use more cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I made this for my brother and took the advise of others and used 3t of cornstarch. It smelled wonderful and with a top crust looked wonderful. When my brother cut into it it was like soup! Did not thicken what-so-ever. He did say the taste was amazing. If anyone has any other suggestions on how to thicken this pie it would be greatly appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
FANTASTIC! Even with store-bought crusts and Sam's Club berries on special, this was an amazing pie. We kept sugar a bit low, but otherwise did this exactly as written. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I think the brown sugar threw the taste off. Came out very runny and just didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This recipe was great!!! It even worked well with a gluten free pie crust! I used 3 tsp of starch like the reviews said and i took the pie out of the oven 10 minutes early cause it was looking a little too golden, but it worked out perfectly. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is a great tasting pie and very simple to make. Next time I would use 2 or 3 tsp. of cornstarch as 2 was a bit on the runny side. I used fresh raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States