Raspberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I have been using deep dish 9" pans with 4 1/2 cups of berries, 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3 tablespoons of cornstarch and I bake for 45 - 50 minutes at 350 F........everyone loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I made this pie with fresh Raspberries from our garden. Followed the recipe exactly. The pie looked beautiful, smelled great, and I had high hopes for it. It was the first Raspberry pie I'd ever made. Unfortunately, was very disappointed. The flavors were very good - the Raspberries shown and it was just enough sweet/tart for us. But as some other bakers/reviewers have written, it was like soup! My husband was really looking forward to a piece of pie, and I, instead had to serve this in a bowl, and even then it didn't hold up as a cobbler might. It was just JUICE. Had to use a ladle to dish it up. Potentially really good recipe BUT ABSOLUTELY NEEDS MORE CORN STARCH!!! Very disappointing effort this holiday weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JennH327
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Definitely for raspberry lovers. Perfect topped off with a scoop of vanilla icecream. Nice simple recipe to follow, I would add a touch more cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Taste wise, this pie was quite good. However, the inside was so soupy and runny that I ended up having to scoop it out of the pie plate with a ladle. I used a swirled top crust, so I know that there was adequate space for steam to escape. Not sure why it turned out this way. But, all in all, the pie was alright. I might make it again, but if I do I will use more cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I made this for my brother and took the advise of others and used 3t of cornstarch. It smelled wonderful and with a top crust looked wonderful. When my brother cut into it it was like soup! Did not thicken what-so-ever. He did say the taste was amazing. If anyone has any other suggestions on how to thicken this pie it would be greatly appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
FANTASTIC! Even with store-bought crusts and Sam's Club berries on special, this was an amazing pie. We kept sugar a bit low, but otherwise did this exactly as written. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I think the brown sugar threw the taste off. Came out very runny and just didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This recipe was great!!! It even worked well with a gluten free pie crust! I used 3 tsp of starch like the reviews said and i took the pie out of the oven 10 minutes early cause it was looking a little too golden, but it worked out perfectly. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is a great tasting pie and very simple to make. Next time I would use 2 or 3 tsp. of cornstarch as 2 was a bit on the runny side. I used fresh raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States