Raspberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This pie is great. I will agree that adding water is not necessary if you rinse the raspberries thoroughly. Raspberries are like little thimbles. They hold water like a cup. I like that this pie stands up when you cut into it. I dont like the contents to spill out when you scoop it. Solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I've made this pie for the past two years with wild raspberries from our yard. It is simple and just fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Tooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
The family gave this rave reviews. Really good recipe! I strongly feel you don't need to add ANY water if you just rinse the raspberries and then mix them with the other items. Am I the only one who had too much filling? I couldn't use it all. A recommendation: cook the pie on a cookie sheet lined with foil - if any pie filling comes out, you've saved yourself from a huge mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
LOVED this recipe!! It was the first fruit pie I ever made, and it turned out delicious! I used the "Best ever Pie Crust" recipe (my second time....still working on it), and it really turned out great! I used fresh raspberries, and Splenda instead of sugar (only one cup). I didn't need the extra water, I just rinsed the raspberries with water, and the mixture seemed wet enough. No runny pie! I even forgot the butter accidently, and it still was fantastic. Will definitely use this recipe again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This pie is the perfect combination of ingredients! I used a frozen berry medley mix from the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I have been baking for 33 years and on numerous occassions have sold my baking at Christmas and other special events. I have NEVER heard of adding water to a fruit pie, but I thought I should follow the recipe as others rated it very high. Made this last night with fresh raspberries and it turned out to be a soupy mess! Husband and the kids ate it but I couldn't. Don't know if I'll make again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I used raspberries that I had frozen over the summer. I thawed them, mixed with the cornstarch, sugar, and tapioca, and poured it into the crust. I didn't add any water. It was the perfect consistency and tartness. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I am making this pie today for Thanksgiving. My family--especially my husband-- loves this recipe. I follow it exactly (I use frozen berries most of the time. And it comes out great. Give it at least 4 hours to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Oh my, yes! Simply delicious and easy to make, especially since I use refrigerated pie crusts (never mastered it). Tastes like grandma's pie that sat in the windowsill to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I made this pie last night for my husbands' birthday--and he really loved it. I thought it tasted a little like jam, but it was still pretty good. The only thing was that I used frozen raspberries, completely thawed and drained and there was A LOT of water. I didn't add any (the recipe calls for 6 tablespoons) and it was still a tad runny. So remember that if you make this with frozen raspberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnitaMarie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States