Raspberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by IMLIZARD
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
First time making a Black Raspberry pie and will NOT be the last! This recipe was EASY and so good! I did rinse my berries, and only used 5 TB of water, and I did let the fruit mixture sit for about 25 minutes before adding to pie shell and it set up beautifully. I preferred a crumb topping, so I cut some cold butter into equal amounts sugar and flour and sprinkled a fairly thick coating on the top. It created a slightly crisp, sweet layer that is just perfect. The only changes I made were omitting the one TB of water and I didn't add butter to the filling. I also used a deep dish pie plate and had NO messy boilover problems! This went right into my written recipe book! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMLIZARD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Raspberries are my favorite fruit, but I never had a raspberry pie that I really liked until I made this recipe. I've made it a few times and it has never turned out soupy or runny. My parents aren't big pie fans, but they request this pie at nearly every family get-together. I do a lattice crust, brushed with an egg white and sprinkled with raw sugar. The pie is sweet, but you also get the tartness of the raspberries. I also like to top my slice with whipped cream. I'm actually preparing to make this pie right now for my dad, who requested it for his belated Father's Day cookout. Thanks for the recipe, you have me and my family hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was a pretty good, simple pie. I made it with a scratch flaky crust and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I have made this pie MANY times and it always turns out delicious. The first year I made this, I took it to a Christmas dinner. Everyone loved it and raved about it. Now, I am begged to bring this pie every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
The flavor is great, but I could eat this pie through a straw! Do NOT add water!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Great recipe. I used frozen raspberries from our bushes from last summer. They were still mostly frozen so I omitted the water. I added a little more sugar though, personal preference. It disappeared quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I have made this twice following the directions as written. I came out AMAZING! My boyfriend LOVES IT!! When I bought raspberries they weren't quite ripe enough so I left them out over night and then they were PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Very good, though I did make a few changes based on other reviews. I used thawed frozen black raspberries (didn't drain the berry juices), no water, 4 T. cornstarch and 8 tsp. tapioca (8 tsp. = 2 T. and 2 tsp.). I had no issues with the pie being too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I just finished eating a portion of this pie--would like to call it a slice, but considering that I had to eat it with a spoon... I had high hopes for this pie. I read the reviews and was worried about it being runny. I used dry, fresh raspberries, added one extra tablespoon of tapioca, added and extra 1/4 cup of sugar, and used 5 tablespoons of water. It still turned out runny! The flavor is nice, but the consistency ruins it, unfortunately. If I make this pie again, I would consider not adding any water at all. Hopes this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by doveyes
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I was so impressed with this pie!. So Simple and Delicious. We devoured it in one evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doveyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States