Raspberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
This pie was excellent. I will continue to use it. If you follow the directions, it is not soupy at all!! Mine was firm and PERFECT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Okay, here's the deal. One of the best, most simple raspberry pie recipes I've come across. A couple of things to share with you. First, I've read about "watery" pies. One thing that contributes to that, would be the ripeness of the raspberries (more moisture). Another thing, would be the amount of water that might be left upon washing them. If they are not thoroughly dry, that moisture (along with additional water used in the recipe), might make for a more "watery" pie. I used 4 tabelspoons of water (instead of 6) because my berries were still wet from washing. I also added an additional tablespoon of tapioca. As far as tartness, that I've seen people mentione...again, it's the ripeness of the berries and it's hard to tell if you're buying them in the store and can't taste them. So try a berry before making the pie at home. If it's too tart for your liking, add more sugar than the recipe requires. I added an additional 1/4 cup (total 1-1/2 cups). I also brushed the crust with egg white ~ yummm....a perfectly golden crust! This was awesome ~ the whole pie gone in two days (with just two people ~ yikes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mariah Long
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This pie was a big hit!! Ate while still hot in the middle, and not at all runny. I followed the directions pretty close. I used 2 bags of thawed raspberries and thawed deep dish double crust pie shells. I used 2 heeping Tbl sp of the tapioca and mixed it with 4 Tbl sp of the juice from the berries. Drainded the berries and added to the tapioca. I mixed 1 and 1/8 C sugar with the corn startch and cut in the butter until crumbly. Gradually folded in with the berries and poured into a the bottom pie plate that I already prepped in the oven for a few min. Put the other crust on top cut out some holes and brushed with egg whites. I poured some of the remaining sugar over the crust and stuck it in the oven. Cook time was great followed to the second. Will make this pie again and again. No mess no hassle. Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This is the most delicious berry pie we have ever had. I have made three and they were all fantastic! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
Excellent recipe. I live near a big patch of uncultivated black raspberries, which I don't think are as sweet as commercially grown berries, but they are abundant and I like to use them when I can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
I've used this recipe twie now and love it. My husband loves it too. It was also my first pie and I was looking for simplicity. I have found, though, that to keep it from being runny, let it cool completely. of course, there's nothing like having it fresh from the oven, but after we put it in the fridge and have leftovers, it has definately solidified. Good both ways, but hot, be prepared to chase the filling. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Great recipe! I made this pie yesterday and we have already devoured the pie. When I took the pie out of the oven it was a bit runny, but after sitting for an hour it thicken right up. Excellent with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lucerne Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I fixed two of these pies for Thanksgiving to use up some of my berries. It was fantastic!!!! I used a bigger pie pan so I had to use 1 1/2 times the berries to fill the pan, but it was GREAT!! Glad I found this recipe, THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caledonia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Extremely tasty! The first pie I have ever made on my own, and I think it came out pretty darn good. I used 2 packages frozen raspberries (10oz each maybe?) instead of the fresh because it is January afterall. The pie filling does seem a little runnier than I would like, but I have popped it in the fridge so hopefully it will harden up a bit. Really not a problem though if it doesn't. I also used the double pie crust recipe that is on this site and it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leyden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I thought this recipe was wonderful! A nice change from apple or cherry. I used fresh raspberries and added maybe a tad more tapicoca, came out perfect. Let sit for a while before serving and add some ice cream on the side- YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States