Raspberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Made this pie with a few changes: I marinated my raspberries with 1/3 c sugar and 2TB cherry liquor for an hour before stirring in the balance of the sugar. I did not add in the water, but I did add in the liquor marinated juices. Also added in a 1/2 TB more tapioca. Came out a tad runny, but not worth complaining about! Tasted fantastic. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I made this pie as written except that I only used two tablespoons of water and the pie was still too runny. I let it set for 8 hours before cutting which should have been more than enough. The filling also tasted a bit too tart for my taste although that may have been the fault of the raspberries (I used fresh). I may try making it again using no water at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This is an awesome recipe that I have used with blueberries, raspberries and blackberries. Just line the bottom of your oven with foil to catch the juice that will spill if you do a lattice top. Cover pie loosely with foil at the 15 minute mark to keep the top from getting too dark. It will still brown and you have to turn the temp. down at this time anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
My husband the pie expert gives this one a four!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was fantastic! I used fresh picked black raspberries and I took the advice of another review & only added 4 T of water because of the remaining water on the washed the berries... came out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
i couldn't find my grandmother's recipe for black raspberry pie, but i wanted to make some, so i went ahead and tried this because it was similar. i used 3 cups of berries instead of 4 (they barely fit, 4 would have overflowed for sure), used UNTHAWED frozen berries because you can't get fresh black raspberries here, used only 3/4 cup sugar, did not use water, used full amount of thickening agents for the reduced amount of berries, otherwise they would have had to increase. i made my grandmother's pie crust, which is amazing. you really need a scratch crust for this, that store bought stuff doesn't compare and your pie won't be anything special using it. i used a milk wash, then sprinkled sugar on top. i tried the two temp baking method, but did 10 minutes and 40 minutes, for perfect golden doneness. adding water and too little thickening ingredients are why people are getting soupy pies. i cut mine open hot from the oven, because i'm impatient like that, and the filling stayed in my pie piece perfectly. also, for people saying they thought the filling turned out like jam, try using frozen berries as well as less sugar. my berries stayed whole and the pie was nice and tart. i think my changes make a 5-star pie easily, but as written, 3-4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I agree with others..next time I will not add water. A bit sweet for me but otherwise tasty. I will make again with 1 cup of sugar...Update..perfect as recipe states after 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETSY
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This pie is wonderful! The only change I made was to cut the water to 4 tbs, since I was worried about the filling being runny. It set up beautifully with no "glommy" taste from too much thickener. Thanks, Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
My husband discovered some black raspberries in the woods across from where we live. He picked them and brought them to me to make a pie. I looked through all my cookbooks, my grandmother's handwritten receipes and found nothing. Of course, my grandmother's generation used "a pinch of this and a pinch of that" and I remember her pies and how good they were hoping to make one as good. I decided to look at allreceipes.com and came to this receipe. I was skeptical, but tried it. I am happy that this receipe turned out so well. I do believe you have to use your own "cooking experience" and make it yours. But, thank you and I will use this receipe again. Never get discouraged...... experiment and have fun with it! My husband rated it a "10"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States