Raspberry Pain au Chocolat (Raspberry Chocolate Croissants) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I made these for a few friends, and they all raved about it. To really simplify this recipe, use packaged, refrigerated crescent rolls. They come preshaped and precut, so the only thing to do is roll them out and pull them apart. Spread the topping on, and roll. I also warmed the hazelnut spread for a few seconds in the microwave to make it easier to spread. Total prep time was no more than 10 minutes this way, and cooking time was 8-12 minutes (as per directions for crescent rolls). Very fast, very easy, and great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
These were great. Everyone loved them. They are NOT difficult, so please don't be discouraged! Some tips: flour your countertop and pin when you roll out the pastry. Lay down one third of your sheet at a time so the others don't get in the way. Don't be concerned about exact measurements: just lengthen and widen the pastry with a few strokes of your pin, keeping it in a general rectangular shape. Don't bother to measure the Nutella, you can eyeball it. Less is more here; you want it to be a hint of flavor, you don't want people to say "Mmm, Nutella and raspberry jam!" Spread the Nutella quickly, as it dries out after several strokes and becomes more difficult to spread. It doesn't have to be pretty; nobody can see the inside. If you go all the way to the edge, no worries. The jam measurement seems to be just right for the size pastry. When you fold em up, crimp the edges with a fork; if filling squeezes out, oh well. A few strokes of egg wash along the top and sides. Make sure you use parchment paper as the filling may overflow in the oven and be a huge pain to scrape off the sheet. And voila! Quick, easy, delicious... this pastry will impress, and you don't have to let on how painless it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Wow! So simple and yet so elegant and delicious! I used a mixed berry all-fruit and 2 squares of Hershey milk chocolate as suggested in a review--great idea and a lot easier than spreading Nutella or investing in a whole jar. I think one person above didn't realize to cut pastry rectangle in thirds across, not lengthwise! So before adding filling, pastry size will be about 5 & 1/2"x 3 & 1/2"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I made this and just put four or five squares of Hershey's Chocolate Bars in and prepared them according to the instructions. FABULOUS! Better than you can get at some coffee shops. If you have leftovers they reheat well in the microwave and have with a cold glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIEAMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
These little gems were loved by all. I was in a huge hurry and wanted smaller/mini pastries so I just cut along the fold lines in the pastry and then divided each of the three strips into four equal squares. I dropped 1 teaspoon of seedless red raspberry jam and 1/2 teaspoon of nutella near the edge of one of the shorter sides and rolled them up tight. Place them seam side down on parchment and pushed them down a little to make sure they stayed rolled up. These are so fast and easy with yummy results. I will use this recipe often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
im not so sure about this recipe. you have to be quite precise to get it right and i took my time. after rolling out the pastry, mine wasnt perfectly square anymore. then you cut it into nine pieces, which turn out to be quite small, and if they are not perfectly square, then the edges don't come together well when folded. i used just a little bit of the egg on the edges, but it made the it goey and hard to stick together. when cooking i had blow outs, which isnt too bad, but the blow out of jam burns to the bottom of the pastry. also, my vent slits all melded together so it just looked like it had lines in the dough rather than slits. the taste was pretty good. I think i may put an entire layer of neutella and jam on an entire pastry, roll it up, chill it for an hour to firm the dough, and then cut it into 1/2 rolls. that way you only have two big edges to worry about instead of 9*4 little edges. With less edges, you get more filling per bite. Also, you can roll it up, wrap the rolled dough around to form a breakfast ring, seal the two edges, and cut vents about half way down so that the servings are easy to separate. lots of potential and what is not great with neutella? will try variations and get back to you. i wonder if neutella, raspberry and cream cheese would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
incredibly delicious and wonderfully simple! i changed the recipe by making a thick, homemade raspberry coulis rather than use the jam, and this dessert sang!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
These were really easy, and very elegant looking at the end. 18 minutes was way too long in my oven, so you might start checking at 13 minutes or so. I would recommend them for an easy, tasty, elegant brunch item or dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm... I make this easy recipe for brunch. Doubled it for 8 people and watched them disappear. I also made with nutella only or substituted bittersweet chocolate chunks with similar results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Awesome! And didn't take long at all! Instead of cutting individually, I just rolled one sheet of puff pastry onto parchment, lightly scored the sheet so that I knew where to place the spread & jam. Then I rolled out the other sheet on parchment. Egged around sheet #1 and then put sheet #2 on top. Cut with my pizza wheel and I was done! Took about 30 mins including the baking time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Pain au Chocolat

These raspberry chocolate croissants are elegant and delicious!

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States