Raspberry Pain au Chocolat (Raspberry Chocolate Croissants) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
These were great. Everyone loved them. They are NOT difficult, so please don't be discouraged! Some tips: flour your countertop and pin when you roll out the pastry. Lay down one third of your sheet at a time so the others don't get in the way. Don't be concerned about exact measurements: just lengthen and widen the pastry with a few strokes of your pin, keeping it in a general rectangular shape. Don't bother to measure the Nutella, you can eyeball it. Less is more here; you want it to be a hint of flavor, you don't want people to say "Mmm, Nutella and raspberry jam!" Spread the Nutella quickly, as it dries out after several strokes and becomes more difficult to spread. It doesn't have to be pretty; nobody can see the inside. If you go all the way to the edge, no worries. The jam measurement seems to be just right for the size pastry. When you fold em up, crimp the edges with a fork; if filling squeezes out, oh well. A few strokes of egg wash along the top and sides. Make sure you use parchment paper as the filling may overflow in the oven and be a huge pain to scrape off the sheet. And voila! Quick, easy, delicious... this pastry will impress, and you don't have to let on how painless it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Awesome! So what if it's not authentic? My friends thought these were the best pastries they'd ever had, and they couldn't believe I made them! Thanks!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
So easy, elegant and delicious! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Wow! So simple and yet so elegant and delicious! I used a mixed berry all-fruit and 2 squares of Hershey milk chocolate as suggested in a review--great idea and a lot easier than spreading Nutella or investing in a whole jar. I think one person above didn't realize to cut pastry rectangle in thirds across, not lengthwise! So before adding filling, pastry size will be about 5 & 1/2"x 3 & 1/2"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Simply delectable. I think I'll try drizzling a little icing on them and using an egg wash next time - there will definitely be a next time! Certainly guest-worthy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I'm giving this 3 stars because although it was good, it was very difficult to put together despite the short list of ingredients and instructions. First of all, prep time was way under calculated. For example, just rolling out the pastry took 30 minutes to get it to 16", then cutting it into strips. And just try putting the chocolate to "within a 1/2 inch" when the strip itself is only 3/4". This part took another 30-40 minutes which put me over the 40 minute prep time listed. Then it didn't say which way to fold the pastry - lengthwise or shortwise? I picked shortwise and it was ok but I kept getting chocolate mixed up with my egg brush and that made the pastry ugly. I think this must just be my complete inexperience with pastry-type cooking but this was way too much work and frustration for the end product, which didn't get hardly any comments from the party-goers I brought them to - except for the kids - they thought they were great! My husband liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This recipe was baked by my son for a project in his high school French class. A great recipe, easy to follow and comes out looking like something in a real French Bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I made these for a few friends, and they all raved about it. To really simplify this recipe, use packaged, refrigerated crescent rolls. They come preshaped and precut, so the only thing to do is roll them out and pull them apart. Spread the topping on, and roll. I also warmed the hazelnut spread for a few seconds in the microwave to make it easier to spread. Total prep time was no more than 10 minutes this way, and cooking time was 8-12 minutes (as per directions for crescent rolls). Very fast, very easy, and great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
i made these especially for my brother because he is a huge fan of pains au chocolat. He loved them so much! they were very easy to make. I used mixed berry jam, and half of the dough I only used nutella without the jam. really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Pain au Chocolat

These raspberry chocolate croissants are elegant and delicious!

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States