Raspberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Bake time was closer to 23 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I was surprised how quick & easy they are. I added 2 cups of jam instead of 1 & they turned out great. This recipe is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I've made these numerous times since I found the recipe and every time I do they get rave reviews from everyone. super duper easy and delicious to boot. I do substitute lemon juice in place of the water and sometimes I add a touch more jam. Otherwise the directions are straight forward and easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I am giving this 4 stars because I feel that there is not enough fruit filling called for in this recipe. Like others have noted, I would increase the jam to 2 cups. I would use the tartest jam you can find to compliment the sweetness of the cake. Using lemon juice adds to the tartness as well. I did not use all the crumb mixture, probably had a cup leftover and it was perfect. Wait until these are totally cooled to cut. I cut them in triangles for added effect. I will make these again with endless jam/cake mix combos...can't wait to try choco cake w/ raspberry jam!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
SO easy! I am a college student and baking is very rare for me. I whipped these up very quickly and have been getting rave reviews! I used lemon juice instead of water, but that's the only change I made. Thank you for this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Megan, I tried these for the first time a while back and everyone LOVED them! I should have rated them back then and I apologize for not doing so. This recipe is so adaptable as others have said and so good! What I did was: I added a bag of frozen raspberries to the jam (didn't have raspberry so I used blackberry) and left out the water. I am telling you, my husband and daughter, who are food snobs, went crazy!!!! The cake mix makes these easy and delicious~!! I don't know how anyone couldn't like these! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
The other Oatmeal Raspberry Bar on here is much better. This does not deserve such high ratings. Too much...too cakey, I love sweet but this is not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This is a great easy recipe. I will agree with others that it can be too sweet. I use a white cake mix, but take out 1/2 cup of mix and replace that with 1/2 cup more of oats. I also used blueberry preserves and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
These are wonderful. I didn't have quite enough raspberry jam so I added some strawberry too. I also substituted the lemon cake mix instead of the yellow. Everyone loved them! I will also add more jam next time as some of you suggested. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BettyBoop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Not the best recipe for raspberry bars, I used two different pans, one glass, one metal, the bars in the glass pan were overdone. I think the recipe needed a clearer test for doneness than just checking for a brown topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAILYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beachwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clarksburg, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States