Raspberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
this just tasted like yellow cake mix to me...not enough preserves. i will try to make again but double the preserves and add milk. it was very crumbly also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I followed the recipe almost to the 'T'. I did use strawberry preserves instead of raspberry and I added a couple tablespoons of milk as suggested by one of the other users. The end product ended up tasting identical to a strawberry NutriGrain bar...which I love!! I will definitely make this recipe again...especially since it's healthy and the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I made these last night, I will not make them again,Iused the lemon cake mix with the fresh lemon juice and not the water cream cheese frosting ,sliced almonds, the works (it tastea like cake batter,I couldreally taste the baking soda of the cake mix,I didn't care for it,Husband said he would eat it.Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Quite possibly one of the easiest desserts I've ever made and quite yummy. Good for when you want a dessert and don't have much time to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I loved how quick this was to put together and bake. I like that it bakes in a 13x9 pan, too (an 8x8 pan is never enough). Will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This is a very good recipe for a quick, tasty treat. Subsituting the lemon juice in place of the water is a good idea and it enhanced the raspberry filling. You do need to wait for it to coo completely, or else you will need a scoop to get it out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NLCHIPMAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
These were super-tasty and easy. I did as others suggested and used lemon cake mix for the yellow. It was a great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
As is, it's a great BASE recipe. I took another reviewer's advice and used a lemon cake mix. I also used fresh lemon juice in place of the water with the raspberry preserves. I didn't have any problem with sticky dough. It was a bit dry but it all worked out in the end. To take it over the top, I drizzled homemade lemon glaze with fresh lemon juice over the top. Ordinary dessert made extraordinary. NOTE: Try making it this way. Addictive little bars, lemme tell you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I took the suggestions of others and substituted applesauce for the margarine and lemon juice for the water. Everyone loved them and asked for the recipe. They were too sweet for me! It was hard spreading the cake mix and oatmeal mixture in the pan as it was VERY sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I made these using the lemon cake mix. I thought they were amazing. I did use more jam and they seemed to take longer to bake. I had a little trouble with the outside edges burning. I took them to a party and everyone raved over them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States