Raspberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
These bars are awesome! I changed the recipe just a bit by still using 3/4th cup of butter (here's a tip- I had run out of unsalted butter so I had to use salted...if you're ever in that situation, leave out the salt in this recipe) but added about 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce and a little less than a cup(packed) of dark brown sugar. I also added vanilla to the wet ingredients making sure to mix them on high for about 5 minutes to get a great whipped consistently. I used 1 3/4 cups of oats and the original 1 1/2 c of flour. Since oats are high in protein and heart healthy, I'm a HUGE fan of them. The batter was sticky, but that's to be expected. I used the 9 x 13 pan, placed half the dough in the bottom and kept working it out to the edges. I really needed about 3/4the of the dough to cover the bottom of the pan in a thin layer. I really think this recipe needs to be in a smaller pan or a double batch. Since I needed to make another batch to finish covering the top I tried putting some in a jumbo muffin tins and filled each with different fillings; craisins infused with pomegranate, chocolate chips with walnuts, and white chocolate chips and coconut...they baked much faster (check on them 10 mins into baking). One other tip, if you want to make 2 different kinds of bars, just spread your preserves to the halfway point in your pan and if the color is similar put a toothpick in it to differentiate what side is what flavor. Once cool, cut the bars and seperate them by flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerseygirl51582

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I can only speak to the crumble part since I made my own apricot filling (1 can drained apricots mashed and cooked with 1/4 c. apricot preserves and 1 T. sugar). I liked this recipe a lot. I added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon, substituted 1/2 c. whole wheat flour for 1/2 c. of the all purpose flour and omitted the salt. I baked them in a glass pan for 30 minutes at 375. The cookies were delicious. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Yummy!! Easy, delicious and got a 'thumbs up' from everyone who ate it. My son's friend can't wait until I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This recipe was really easy to make and it leaves room for a lot of experimenting. I made a batch with a Nutella and Almond Butter center, but they hardened a lot faster than the jam-filled ones. I used Raspberry jam for the last few, and it is a real winner - I might try Blueberry next. I also took the advice of one reviewer and cut the butter by 1/4 and substituted apple sauce for it - it make the bars a little bit softer and chewier and definitely made the creaming process a lot easier! I did find that I had to leave the bars overnight before I could cut them because they fell apart. I also put in some sliced almonds into the batter, and added crushed pecans and shredded coconut to the topping. It was delicious!! I urge you all to try adding what you love best to these simple bars to make them your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This is a perfect and simple bar type dessert - especially with the younger crowd. Please, please DO NOT RATE a recipe if you totally changed it. Follow it the first try and if you do not like it then play around.......enough said. This site is famous for this type of review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This really is super quick- and delicious. Used blueberry preserves and a little orange zest, and margarine instead of butter. Lined the pan with foil and sprayed with canola oil, but the foil probably wasn't even necessary. Baked for 16 minutes and they were perfect. Warm from the oven, they'd be great with ice cream. Can't wait to try this recipe with other types of preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
total hit with the co-workers! I mixed the jam w/ fresh fruit which gave it a more "homemade" taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This recipe was perfect! I made exactly as directed. Perfect proportions. I sprayed a 13x9 inch pan with Pam. I pressed 1/2 of the oat mixture onto the bottom of the pan. I spread the seedless raspberry jam to 1/2 inch of the edge. Sprinkled the top with the crumbs and pressed in gently. Cooked at 400 degrees for 22 minutes and they were wonderful. They cut into perfect bars and they were not crumbly. They looked just like the picture. Great dessert tonight after a spaghetti supper and will be wonderful tomorrow morning with a cup of coffee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Woodard Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Excellent! Made them with orange marmalade. I cut temp to 375 for 17 minutes in electric oven. Otherwise, followed instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This recipe was super easy and I would definitely make it again. I would try to spread the preserves a little bit thinner and may try a different preserves next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Simoni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States