Raspberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
One of my favorite sweet snacks! Very easy to sub in whatever jam/fruit you are in the mood for. My personal favorite is a rhubarb/strawberry compote! Also try adding in pecans and coconut to the topping - they toast up quite nicely and add a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I did make quiet a few changes though based on my taste and what I had on hand. First I used sugar free blueberry preserves instead of raspberry b/c that is what I had. Second I double the crust recipe just because I tend to like a more crust to filling ratio. I cut out all butter and substituted canola oil and applesauce instead and I used all whole wheat flour. These bars are a much better breakfast alternative to pop tarts in taste and nutrition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
WICKED EASY to make and super tasty - they are a bit on the sweet side. I also took other people's advice and didn't spread the preserved to the edge and cooked it for less time. It seems soft when you take it out, but it hardens pretty quickly - but not too hard to chew. I also didn't use 10oz of preserves, I just spread it til I thought it was an even coating of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This was very good. I made it with organge marmalade instead of raspberry preserves. We will enjoy these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tryon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Yummy! I added about a cup of peanut butter to the butter and brown sugar mixture and made "pb&j bars." Even better with almond butter. Can't stop eating them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WhiteChocolate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I made these bars for a camping trip except I used apricot preserves instead of raspberry preserves. They were a huge hit!! They got eaten for breakfast and for dessert! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
VERY yummy! The only problem I had was that it was a bit crumbly and falling apart, but the taste makes up for that. I used sugar-free strawberry preserves, and it was very tasty. I followed other reviewers and baked at 375 and kept the filling about 1/2 inch from the edges. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dizziepixie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
These needed more flour and oats, they were too wet. I made them for our camping trip and everyone loved them! They even made it a point to come over and tell me so. Really good breakfast bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
THIS was EXACTLY what I was looking for. It was so simple and I had all the ingredients on hand. I spread my jam to about 1/2" from the edges so I didn't burn the jam. I also used strawberry preserves and it was SO GOOD! If only I had some ice cream put on top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I made these yesterday and they were deemed a 'keeper' by the family immediately. I followed the recipe as written except that I used a raspbery, blueberry, blackberry perserve combination instead or straight raspberry. There is plenty of oatmeal/flour mixture to cover both the top and bottom of the bars, so no worries. I would recommend stirring up your preserves in a small bowl before adding them to the crust; this will allow for easier spreading. Also, do not spread the preserves all the way to the edge, but rather leave a little space so there is no burning. I would also reccomend keeping an eye on them during baking time; mine were done at about 18 minutes...25 minutes would've been too long in my oven. A yummy recipe we all enjoyed....thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States