Raspberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Better that the raspberry oatmeal cookie bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
People loved these. I thought they just tasted like homemade Nutrigrain bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Great recipe, very easy to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsDiaz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagle Rock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Everyone at work loved these. I added a couple of tablespoons of unsweetened applesauce and it wasn't crumbly at all. Because it was just easier to soften two sticks of butter, I increased the total of amount of crust by 25%. Perfect! Now that I know how good they are this way I may try to experiment to make them a little more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Great. If you want less crumbly bars, replace 1/4 of the butter with applesauce. Also, we found one cup of jam to be more than enough -- I think I would only use 3/4 cup next time. It's very easy to spread if you pop it in a bowl in the microwave for 30-40 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Mmmmmmm : ) These were yummy! I added 3 tbsp of peanut butter to the sugar butter mixture and used seeded raspberry jam and it turned out really well.. Also added a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg to the mixture - YUM! I'll def make these again, though I think next time I'll add a bit more of the oat mixture as I was a bit short for the top half! And I baked on a slightly lower temp to avoid the jam burning... Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
The hubby loves them but says to use less butter next time. They're VERY crumbly though.. can't make the bars that'd be handy. However, they're tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMI13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Quite tasty and really easy to make. I used half white wheat flour and half all purpose flour to get the total 1 1/2, just to make it a little healthier. A 8 in. pan was perfect for me, since I like thicker layers. I will use less sugar next time, especially since the preserves were sweet on their own. Careful not to use too much preserves, it can taste like a glob of jelly otherwise--I just spread them on until I thought it was covered enough. I might try wheat germ and cinnamon additions next time. Thanks for the recipe, I love oats in anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Oh My GOSH! I made this (with a few changes, see below) a few days ago, and my boyfriend is obsessed, then I gave some to some friends, and they were pretty much freaking out over how great they were! I can't stop eating them either! I take them as snacks to work, or have them with tea for breakfast. MMMMM!!!!! I am going to be making these forever! CHANGES I MADE(to the 32 serving mix): I added a tablespoon of CINNAMON, and 1 and a half teaspoon of NUTMEG to the OAT MIXTURE. ALSO I did 1.5 times the amount of preserves, so it was 1 jar (10oz) of BLACKBERRY PRESERVES, and half of a 10 oz RASPBERRY PRESERVES jar. Next time I think I will add in some real blackberries, blueberries, and/or raspberries. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE WONDERFUL RECIPE! oh yeah and I just "greased" the pan with PAM "for baking" and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devpav1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I was looking for a healthy snack bar - this was great. I melted Smart Balance instead of using butter and it worked perfectly. I'll be making this alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States