Raspberry Meringue Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
A dear friend used to make a similar recipe. I toast the walnuts and cool then, then finely grind them, adding 2 T of the sugar to them toward the end so they don't become oily. I separately finely ground 1/2 cup sugar - if you add more than that to the egg whites they collapse. Also add 1/2 tsp cream of tartar to the egg whites to prevent the cracking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This is a pretty simple recipe and makes a delicious dessert! The crust was a tad too thick for my liking though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmart321

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe! I was bored one day and found this and made it. I left out the walnuts because i didnt have any but i doubt it needed them. My family went crazy over it and said it was one of the best desserts I've made yet (I make a lot of desserts). I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was delicious! All my cookies tend to turn out hard, but the jam kept the dough from stiffening too much. I replaced raspberry jam with currant jam and didn't add the walnuts. I then made a batch with blueberry jam which was delicious. Great for leftover jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Really delicious. Everyone raved about them and asked to take some home. I had to change the recipe a little to use what I had on hand, so I ended up using apricot preserves, and chopped pecans instead of chopped walnuts. I plan on using the original recipe next time. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn-Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
LOVE these bars! I scatter semisweet chocolate chips over the jam and let them melt, then put on the meringue. Yum. Chocolate and raspberry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENNUSF
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I brought these bars to a barbecue and they got rave reviews! I was a little worried when I made them because people were talking about how messy they were--I just lined the pan with foil and pulled them out to cut them and it was no big deal. I followed the other reviewers' advice and sprinkled the nuts on the raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Very nice levels of flavors with the buttery crust, sweet n sticky jam fillings, topped with a light and airy sweet crisp! I just wouldn't consider it "elegant" looking because they are difficult to cut without breaking and crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
These are incredible and fairly easy to make. I followed the suggestions to put the nuts directly onto the jam and that worked well. My tip: make sure to use LARGER than a one quart bowl for mixing the meringue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cranwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
this turned into a sticky, crumbly mess. It was however, a tasty mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekOphile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States