Raspberry Lemon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MRSPARKERII
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
These were really good. I used fresh blueberries, and substituted sour cream for the plain yogurt. Instead of topping with white sugar before baking, I made a glaze from lemon juice, milk vanilla and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
The batter was far too thick and there were more berries in each muffin cup than batter even though I followed the recipe. The only thing I can think of that may have affected the batter was that I used Greek yogurt instead of regular yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Clearly, I must have done SOMETHING wrong. I used sour cream instead of yogurt and a whole egg instead of egg whites. I juiced a lemon instead of using bottled lemon juice. These muffins are dense, and a big disappointment. The muffins are stuck to the wrapper and are all around a big two THUMBS DOWN. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Made these with blueberries, no lemon extract, and replaced some of the oil with extra lemon juice and a bit of almond milk. I didn't have 1/2c of plain yogurt so I used a mixture of plain Greek yogurt and sour cream. Great flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I made these with fresh raspberries, a mixture of half vanilla yogurt and half non-fat Greek yogurt, and coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I also cut the sugar by 1/4 cup. I sprinkled the tops generously with turbinado sugar. While the mix was very thick the muffins turned out wonderful! Even tastier with a little lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Delicious! Will definitely make again. Used a mixture of berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I tried this recipe for the first time today and my husband and I both loved it. I typically make a recipe exactly according to the directions the first time but this time I did adjust a tiny bit. I used a tiny bit more salt (just didn't level the 1/4 teaspoon) because a lot of muffins seem bland to me. I added a few drops of vanilla (about a half cap)and used 3 tablespoons of fresh Meyer lemon juice and the zest from 2 lemons (probably 2 teaspoons)and did not use the lemon extract. I used 1 1/2 cups fresh raspberries. Sprinkled the tops with two small packets of turbino sugar before baking which added a nice glistening topping. They were really good! I loved the density and that they were not too sweet. My husband ate 5 the first night (they are small even though the muffin cups are full). Twelve muffins baked perfectly in 16 minutes. The paper liners were a little tough to peel off but didn't ruin the muffins. I will look for some suggestions to correct that. Will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I really don't like to be negative because cooking, while fun, is a lot of work. So let me just say, that if I had not been cooking for 30 years, I would have been totally perplexed when it came to the point of adding the raspberries. The batter was so thick that I had to add an additional tsp. of oil(I followed the recipe exactly as it was written as I agree with those people who say you shouldn't review something when you change it all around), and the spoon stood up in the batter. I gradually added small measures of milk until I had a "batter" into which I could fold the raspberries. I followed the suggestions and put a sprinkling of cinnamon and sugar on top, and committed them to the oven. It made exactly twelve. I did use fresh raspberries because I had some here. I cooked them fifteen minutes and am glad I took them out when I did. Every oven is different, but I think next time, I'd try 375 degrees. They are dense, but they are also tasty. However, you do need to know what you are doing in the kitchen to make these work. I think next time, I will leave one of the eggs whole for good measure and continue to add milk until the batter is a batter and not a dough. Yes, they were dense, but they were also good and I liked the healthy component. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Sr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Very tasty muffin. I used blueberries, one whole egg and an extra lemon juice as suggested by others and they were wonderful. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
These were fantastic. Really out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States