Raspberry Lemon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
A few substitutions: I used greek yogurt 1/2cup oat flour 1/2 cup wheat flour 1/2 cup regular flour 1/2 cup sugar I used mixed berries- just rasp would be better Very thick batter! Came out almost scone like, def more dense than regular muffins but great flavor. I would recommend using the lemon extract as they barely tasted like lemon and I doubled the zest, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
These muffins came out very nice albeit not as sweet as my husband usually likes his desserts. I made a few modification that may have contributed to this: I used 0% Fage Greek yogurt as it was all I had on hand. This yogurt is quite thick, less sweet, and has a sour note. The resulting batter was more like cookie dough than muffin mix. However, to rescue the consistency I mashed fresh whole raspberry (my husband prefers the tie-die effect of the mash over the whole fruit) and incorporated it into the mix. This loosened up the batter and added the fresh fruit element. I liked the flavor of the lemon and did add the extract to really bring out the citrus. All-in-all after baking these muffins, I was happy with the results. Next time I'll either add a bit more sugar if repeating with the Greek yogurt or maybe add a lemon icing to the top.. I used turbinado sugar to sprinkle on top of the batter before baking. It was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Linarelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Way to thick and didnt come off the paper very well wouldnt make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawny&Dominic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
OMG THESE ARE RESTAURANT QUALITY MUFFINS!! I read through a lot of the reviews for the perfect one so here's mine (Only Minor changes!!) I used Greek yogurt, 2 T lemon juice (no lemon extract), 1 tsp vanilla, Fresh raspberries, and white sanding sugar for the top. The dough was very thick so I added 1 T milk. I sprayed the inside of the muffin liners as I think someone said they stuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMHMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Don't let the "dough" throw you off. These are good muffins and very tasty. The only substitute I did was use a whole egg instead of just egg whites. Instead of muffin batter I ended up with dough that made 12 mini muffins (there is no way this recipe can make 12 regular sized muffins). I baked them at 400 for 17 minutes but because they are so dense they still weren't done so I lowered the temp to 350 and baked for another 10 minutes. Still moist, just very dense. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Yum! I thought these might be heavy because it seemed like there wasn't enough liquid when I started mixing but oh man, just took them out of the oven and they're amazing. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Dunphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Delicious! Kids aren't so impressed. Used raspberry yogurt and a tsp to tbsp grated lemon. No extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
These are fabulous! I used Greek yogurt and I sprinkled raw sugar on top. They were gone in 3 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
A really fresh, fruity flavor! I love the combination of the sweetness and the lemon. I think they are great in summer, to bring to a garden party or a birthday! I had to add some milk to the dough because otherwise it would be way to heavy and dry and some split almonds on top. This recipe is really a keeper and even my lovely hubby, who really not goes crazy about muffins, loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
The muffins by themselves aren't that tasty. I agree with what other people have said in that there simply isn't enough lemon flavor. In addition, they didn't rise very much, so don't be afraid to fill the muffin tin to the top. They are also pretty dense and not fluffy like some muffins, so be aware of that as well. Some things I did to boost the flavor: I used lemon yogurt instead of plain (Yoplait makes a good one with no fruit on the bottom). I added something that really kicked up the flavor (and calorie content) - I added a lemon icing to the top. It REALLY complemented the berry flavor, and providing a sweet, yet tart kick. I highly suggest adding this for flavor. If you search "lemon icing" there is a highly rated recipe by a woman named Carol - that's the one I used. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States