Raspberry Lemon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I tried this recipe for the first time today and my husband and I both loved it. I typically make a recipe exactly according to the directions the first time but this time I did adjust a tiny bit. I used a tiny bit more salt (just didn't level the 1/4 teaspoon) because a lot of muffins seem bland to me. I added a few drops of vanilla (about a half cap)and used 3 tablespoons of fresh Meyer lemon juice and the zest from 2 lemons (probably 2 teaspoons)and did not use the lemon extract. I used 1 1/2 cups fresh raspberries. Sprinkled the tops with two small packets of turbino sugar before baking which added a nice glistening topping. They were really good! I loved the density and that they were not too sweet. My husband ate 5 the first night (they are small even though the muffin cups are full). Twelve muffins baked perfectly in 16 minutes. The paper liners were a little tough to peel off but didn't ruin the muffins. I will look for some suggestions to correct that. Will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I really don't like to be negative because cooking, while fun, is a lot of work. So let me just say, that if I had not been cooking for 30 years, I would have been totally perplexed when it came to the point of adding the raspberries. The batter was so thick that I had to add an additional tsp. of oil I followed the recipe exactly as it was written as I agree with those people who say you shouldn't review something when you change it all around, and the spoon stood up in the batter. I gradually added small measures of milk until I had a "batter" into which I could fold the raspberries. I followed the suggestions and put a sprinkling of cinnamon and sugar on top, and committed them to the oven. It made exactly twelve. I did use fresh raspberries because I had some here. I cooked them fifteen minutes and am glad I took them out when I did. Every oven is different, but I think next time, I'd try 375 degrees. They are dense, but they are also tasty. However, you do need to know what you are doing in the kitchen to make these work. I think next time, I will leave one of the eggs whole for good measure and continue to add milk until the batter is a batter and not a dough. Yes, they were dense, but they were also good and I liked the healthy component. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Sr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Very tasty muffin. I used blueberries, one whole egg and an extra lemon juice as suggested by others and they were wonderful. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
These were fantastic. Really out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nowelle
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Delicious taste. The texture of my muffins was somewhat dense and more moist than I would like. Possibly because I added a whole egg instead of two egg whites. The flavor was very good though. I topped with chocolate drizzle because I love raspberries with chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nowelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I made these muffins with frozen blackberries. Absolutely wonderful. The texture and the flavor are the perfect balance and they are so easy to make. These dont last long, so if you are planning to take some for a quick breakfast during the week, make 2 batches! I just wrap individually in plastic wrap and keep in the fridge to grab for a quick breakfast or snack. Also, I would like to see sugar content displayed with the nutrition facts. Lots of folks are diabetic, and need to see that info. The best I can calculate, these have approximately 12 grams of sugar per muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Clearly I must have done something wrong, because these were terrible. I followed the recipe except I did not have lemon extract. The batter was way, way, WAY too thick. Then after baking, the muffins stuck like glue to the liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
The raspberries were too much, even though we love raspberries themselves. We also couldn't taste the lemon, even though we used all the zest and juice from a lemon (which is about twice as much as the recipe called for). On the plus side, they were very moist and had a good texture. I might try this again but with blueberries or a smaller amount of triple berry mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I made half of them with the cinnamon/flour/butter topping suggested by another reviewer and half of them with no topping at all. Next time I think I'll get some coarse ground sugar to sprinkle on top and that extra bit of sweet crunch will make them perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girl in Beige

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
A few substitutions: I used greek yogurt 1/2cup oat flour 1/2 cup wheat flour 1/2 cup regular flour 1/2 cup sugar I used mixed berries- just rasp would be better Very thick batter! Came out almost scone like, def more dense than regular muffins but great flavor. I would recommend using the lemon extract as they barely tasted like lemon and I doubled the zest, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States