Raspberry Lemon Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This is great and I am quite surprised that people recommend upping the sugar, I actually think next time I would put even less sugar in then the 1/2 cup it calls for. I used sugar free applesauce in place of the oil and I used whole wheat flour instead of white. I also added 2 tbsp of lemon peel and 1 tsp of lemon extract. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Following some of the other reviews I decided to tweak this recipe a little to try and make it a little sweeter and more of a lemon flavour. I only had frozen raspberries so used those. I did use 3/4 cup of sugar and added 2 teaspoons of lemon extract, used vanilla yogurt. Even using the extra sugar I still found this was not sweet enough. To me this was just an average loaf recipe, nothing that got me really excited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Nice textured bread and such a treat to have a bread like this that isn't loaded with sugar (sorry to all you people who like sweet!!!). Just as well we don't all have the same taste buds Also, think I prefer plain yoghurt for taste and texture and add more lemon rind and some pure lemon juice. Blueberries can be substituted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
YUM!! Normally I will make a recipe exactly as written (at least the first time I make it), but I didn't feel like running to the store for lemon yogurt so I used plain with the juice of a large lemon and in place of the oil I used unsweetened applesauce. I think this recipe has the perfect amount of sugar, but I also tend to like things a little less sweet. It turned out wonderfully, thanks for the recipe, Carol!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Great recipe! Makes a very moist loaf. I used smaller loaf pans and reduced the baking time a bit. Lots of lemon flavour. Top it off with a lemon glaze, (1 cup of icing sugar, lemon juice and a bit of water heated on low heat in a saucepan) YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Lacking more flavour but other than that it baked really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I gave this 5 stars even though I modified it quite a bit -it was just light and wonderful and exactly what I was looking to take to a friends house as a thank-you gift. My changes: 2 full eggs (no extra whites) 1 cup full fat sour cream (plain) instead of yogurt 1 tbs lemon essence I used coconut oil -because I always bake with coconut oil And I added 0.25 cup (approx) milk to thin it out Doubled the sugar per other reviewers. I tore my raspberries in half to get more of that throughout I made it into mini loaves and they baked for about 40 mins. Once cooled I boiled 0.5c sugar with 0.3c fresh lemon juice for 5 mins and then brushed that on the top for an extra kick of tart and sweet when you bite in! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb. B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamond Vale, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This is really good bread.I used plain nonfat yogurt and after reading reviews it wasn't sweet enough I increased the sugar to 1 cup.I'm glad I added the extra sugar because I thought it was just right.I loved how moist it turned out and the lemon peel really gives it a nice flavor.I have also substituted the raspberries for blueberries with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This was pretty good. Subtle lemon flavor and a very nice texture. Moist for several days in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This cake comes together so easily, it feels like you must have missed a step! I didn't have lemon-flavoured yogurt, so I used regular. I also added a dash of almond flavouring just for the fun of it. The cake is currently bakingin my ancient apartment-oven in a stoneware loaf pan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNDREGER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Morden, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States