Raspberry Kielbasa over Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Very delish! Wife gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I was intrigued by the sausage and raspberry combo and quite pleased with how it turned out. I look forward to making it again. Next time I will reduce the oil for sautéing by half as it had a lot of oil and fats from the sausage left before adding the preserves. I omitted mushrooms because of preferences but added about 1/4C wine and1 T. garlic while browning the sausage and onions to give it some depth without the mushrooms. I'll also cut the preserves by 1/3 to 1/2 as there was more sauce than needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Enjoyed the inventive flavor combination of this recipe (and it's so quick to prepare!). A few minor notes: - Quick grits worked just fine; I used a 1 c. water/2 c. milk proportion to mirror the overall liquid quantity recommended by the box for 3/4 c grits. - If you omit the mushrooms (didn't have on hand), consider increasing the amount of sausage or reducing the amount of preserves/ sauce to keep the proportions even. - Definitely consider how sweet your preserves are. I subbed huckleberry for raspberry since that's what I had on hand; the flavor worked fine but it was a bit over-sweet for my taste. I'll cut back the quantity of preserves next time. All in all, a great creative find (especially if you love grits and sausage as much as I do!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This was pretty good but didn't quite have the pop of flavor I was expecting. I left out the mushrooms like many of the other reviewers but otherwise made the recipe as is. Be careful with the type of grits that you have - just use the package directions rather than the ones above. And being from the South, some margarine/butter and some salt are essential to good grits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Gray Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
We tried this, just hubby and I, because we love kielbasa AND cheese grits. Living now in MA (we did the opposite of everyone else, we retired from FL to MA) we do get weird looks when we buy grits, but we do anyway. THIS recipe is absolutely terrific! We ALWAYS use 1/2 milk and 1/2 water; this is an absolute must making grits. The raspberry preserves added so much flavor! I must try this with other flavors now! Thanks MBC, for a flavorful, fast meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I thought this was very good. I did omit the mushrooms and will use this recipe again (minus the mushrooms). Delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I made this with turkey kielbasa and sugar free preserves as I am diabetic. I gave it 4 stars for its creativity and unique flavors... however.. I wonder if I did something wrong. Maybe I needed to caramelize the meat more or something... just seemed like it was missing something. I will try it again tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I found a raspberry chipotle chicken sausage near the precooked brats at my grocery store and substituted it for the kielbasa and preserves. I still really liked the flavor and cut out many grams of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Made it without the mushrooms just because I'm not a big fan...excellent anyway! One note, though, if you use instant grits (which is what I had on hand) it will not take 10 minutes to thicken, so start them after the onions and sausage, not before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This meal was fabulous! But then I like sweet and savory together. I used turkey smoked sausage (it tastes just as good as beef and is less fat). I sliced my onion into 1/4 rounds instead of chopping just because I like that texture better. I did start cooking the onions and mushrooms first and then put the sausage in. That way the mushrooms could lose some of their liquid so the sausage would begin browning immediately. I used Smuckers seedless raspberry jam - I don't know if that makes a difference over preserves or not. I needed more liquid for the grits to get it to the consistency I like. The meal heats up great in the microwave too, I've had it for 3 meals so far and there's still a little left over - hey maybe I'll have that for my dinner tonight! Thanks MBC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States