Raspberry Icebox Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by suzsewell
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Instead of increasing the ingredients, I would highly suggest using a smaller dish than the 9x13 so that each layer is thicker. Other than that, it turned out beautifully and was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This is a keeper...with a few modifications. I read quite a few reviews before trying this and made a few changes based both on those reviews and my own taste. First, because the instructions weren't clear on whether the graham crackers were the full-sized rectangles or half-sized squares, I went with the full-sized rectangles of CHOCOLATE graham crackers (made up of 4 smaller rectangles). I then had to double the amount of butter to make the crust. I omitted the sugar, as I felt the remaining ingredients would make the dessert sweet enough (I was right). I also used one 3oz package of raspberry jello and one small package of unsweetened gelatin. I upped the water to 1.5 cups and added two 12oz packages of frozen raspberries. I followed the instructions on the topping, but doubled the amount since I used more ingredients everywhere else. This was a big hit at our house, and I will definitely be making it again following the same changes I made this time. I may try fresh raspberries in place of one of the packages of frozen next time, but it was certainly delicious the way I made it this time! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I've had this in my recipe box for a while, and I was skeptical but curious. I've made these twice now this week and both my mother and husband cannot get enough! I followed the advice of another reviewer and used chocolate graham crackers instead of regular ones and also omitted the brown sugar. I used two muffin tins to make single servings. The first time, I had some problems with the graham cracker base crumbling away instead of sticking together. The second time, I doubled the raspberries and graham crackers and skipped baking the crust. I spooned on a layer of gelatin-soaked raspberries with a slotted spoon, then microwaved the jello left in the bowl. Pouring the hot liquid jello on top made the gelatin soak into the graham cracker crumbs making them stick together beautifully! The graham crackers became like a dense moist cake. I finished with a big dollop of topping and a fresh raspberry for each. Surprisingly delicious and super easy to make! This will now be my go-to for an easy way to impress people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bitter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made this today . I also was confused on the crackers. but used the smaller count just in case.As for the marshmallow topping... I goofed it up completely ... so I used cool whip instead... I figured out my mistake tho and will attempt to make this again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert D Stabler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Worked great with 2 cups graham cracker crumbs and 1 stick of butter. I did not reserve any for the top. Jello set very quickly with frozen fruit; do not mix ahead! This was a big hit with my family and friends...but it has a lot of steps so plan ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This was fairly good. I thought that cooked as directed, the middle jello layer was WAY too "jello-y". I think this is because it only calls for 1c of water when a 6oz package is normally prepared with 2c. Next time I will only use a 3oz pkg of jello and I will up the berry content so that you're getting more fruit than jello in that middle layer. I also added walnuts to the crust which added a nice crunch, and blueberries to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rokosjea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
We all enjoyed this. I used Cool Whip instead of whipping cream and I thought it would end up too sweet. But, it was just right with a bit of tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Delicious and refreshing. Everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Great tasting! I found 9 x 13 pan a bit large. The crust needs 1 1/2 cups graham crumbs. I stirred ice cubes in hot jelly until slightly thickened, then folded in FRESH berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
After reading the reviews, I decided to 1 & 1/2 all the ingredients. This worked out very well and made each layer thicker (taller), which we liked. DH and kids enjoyed this dessert and all commented on the great Raspberry Flavor. I did fold a small container of fresh raspberries in with the frozen and think that really bumped up the flavor. Due to the good reviews from my family, I will make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States