Raspberry Icebox Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I had a little trouble deciding how many graham crackers to use..finally decided one cracker was half of one large unbroken one. It turned out great, even though I mixed the marshmallows into the whipped cream when they were still a bit warm. I think the topping would have been lighter and fluffier if I hadn't been in a hurry. The raspberry filling is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
So easy and Raspberry licious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I've had this in my recipe box for a while, and I was skeptical but curious. I've made these twice now this week and both my mother and husband cannot get enough! I followed the advice of another reviewer and used chocolate graham crackers instead of regular ones and also omitted the brown sugar. I used two muffin tins to make single servings. The first time, I had some problems with the graham cracker base crumbling away instead of sticking together. The second time, I doubled the raspberries and graham crackers and skipped baking the crust. I spooned on a layer of gelatin-soaked raspberries with a slotted spoon, then microwaved the jello left in the bowl. Pouring the hot liquid jello on top made the gelatin soak into the graham cracker crumbs making them stick together beautifully! The graham crackers became like a dense moist cake. I finished with a big dollop of topping and a fresh raspberry for each. Surprisingly delicious and super easy to make! This will now be my go-to for an easy way to impress people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bitter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
This was a delicious dessert that was the first to go when I made it for a church potluck luncheon. Easy to make as well! I also added a few fresh raspberries on top, for show.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2000
Easy and very tasty. I used raspberries from my own back yard and got a light, refreshing and delicious dessert. I used Graham Cracker crumbs for the bottom layer, and had to use almost the entire box. I think the recipe asks for too small a quantity of graham cracker crumbs - it would not quite cover the pan bottom and it would be too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
i agree, the graham cracker ratio is way off. it must mean 24 small sections of crackers. but otherwise a great treat. i also used mini marshmallows since they melt faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Delicious and refreshing. Everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
AMAZING! Oh so easy and tastes great. As I live in the semi-tropics of Australia, fresh reasberries are 1. hard to come by, and 2. so expensive that I refuse to buy them, I love that this recipe calls for frozen, but you could use fresh if you had them on hand. Didn't bother about the crumble topping, this recipe is amazing without it. Congratulations Carol on such a fantastic and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Delicious!! The topping when I put it on thought it would be runny but it sets up soo nice and was a good change from regular cool whip! It's a keeper! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This is a keeper...with a few modifications. I read quite a few reviews before trying this and made a few changes based both on those reviews and my own taste. First, because the instructions weren't clear on whether the graham crackers were the full-sized rectangles or half-sized squares, I went with the full-sized rectangles of CHOCOLATE graham crackers (made up of 4 smaller rectangles). I then had to double the amount of butter to make the crust. I omitted the sugar, as I felt the remaining ingredients would make the dessert sweet enough (I was right). I also used one 3oz package of raspberry jello and one small package of unsweetened gelatin. I upped the water to 1.5 cups and added two 12oz packages of frozen raspberries. I followed the instructions on the topping, but doubled the amount since I used more ingredients everywhere else. This was a big hit at our house, and I will definitely be making it again following the same changes I made this time. I may try fresh raspberries in place of one of the packages of frozen next time, but it was certainly delicious the way I made it this time! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States