Raspberry Icebox Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I've had this in my recipe box for a while, and I was skeptical but curious. I've made these twice now this week and both my mother and husband cannot get enough! I followed the advice of another reviewer and used chocolate graham crackers instead of regular ones and also omitted the brown sugar. I used two muffin tins to make single servings. The first time, I had some problems with the graham cracker base crumbling away instead of sticking together. The second time, I doubled the raspberries and graham crackers and skipped baking the crust. I spooned on a layer of gelatin-soaked raspberries with a slotted spoon, then microwaved the jello left in the bowl. Pouring the hot liquid jello on top made the gelatin soak into the graham cracker crumbs making them stick together beautifully! The graham crackers became like a dense moist cake. I finished with a big dollop of topping and a fresh raspberry for each. Surprisingly delicious and super easy to make! This will now be my go-to for an easy way to impress people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bitter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made this today . I also was confused on the crackers. but used the smaller count just in case.As for the marshmallow topping... I goofed it up completely ... so I used cool whip instead... I figured out my mistake tho and will attempt to make this again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Worked great with 2 cups graham cracker crumbs and 1 stick of butter. I did not reserve any for the top. Jello set very quickly with frozen fruit; do not mix ahead! This was a big hit with my family and friends...but it has a lot of steps so plan ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This was fairly good. I thought that cooked as directed, the middle jello layer was WAY too "jello-y". I think this is because it only calls for 1c of water when a 6oz package is normally prepared with 2c. Next time I will only use a 3oz pkg of jello and I will up the berry content so that you're getting more fruit than jello in that middle layer. I also added walnuts to the crust which added a nice crunch, and blueberries to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rokosjea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
We all enjoyed this. I used Cool Whip instead of whipping cream and I thought it would end up too sweet. But, it was just right with a bit of tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Delicious and refreshing. Everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Great tasting! I found 9 x 13 pan a bit large. The crust needs 1 1/2 cups graham crumbs. I stirred ice cubes in hot jelly until slightly thickened, then folded in FRESH berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
After reading the reviews, I decided to 1 & 1/2 all the ingredients. This worked out very well and made each layer thicker (taller), which we liked. DH and kids enjoyed this dessert and all commented on the great Raspberry Flavor. I did fold a small container of fresh raspberries in with the frozen and think that really bumped up the flavor. Due to the good reviews from my family, I will make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I had a little trouble deciding how many graham crackers to use..finally decided one cracker was half of one large unbroken one. It turned out great, even though I mixed the marshmallows into the whipped cream when they were still a bit warm. I think the topping would have been lighter and fluffier if I hadn't been in a hurry. The raspberry filling is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
CHOCOLOATE LOVERS PAY ATTENTION! Instead of regualar grahms, use chocolate grahms. Also, after about an hour in the freezer drizzle with hersheys syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORILEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States