Raspberry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Nice idea, agree w/ another review it tastes like raspberry cool whip (I use heavy cream all the time with ice cream w/out this problem). Will try again turning it into a custard recipe and cooking it and adding eggs. I too doubled the raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
So fresh and packed with flavor. Nothing like fresh churned ice cream! I used total of 4 - 6 oz pkg of fresh raspberries since they are in season now. Macerated 3 pkgs with extra fine sugar, blended in blender and strained out seeds. Omitted vanilla. When churning, after began to thicken added last pkg berries and finished churning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I wanted to add to my review ... I didn't puree the frozen raspberries. I let them thaw so as to get the juice and smashed them ... preferring bits of raspberry. There were no seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Delicious, rich ice cream. I pureed two 10 ounce packages of frozen raspberries and then strained them through a mesh strainer. I then cooked the sugar with the raspberry puree and cooled the mixture before mixing it with the other ingredients. I omitted the vanilla because I feel it makes the raspberry flavor less bright. My husband had requested raspberry ice cream with chocolate swirls, so after processing the mixture in the ice cream maker, I layered the semi-soft ice cream with fudge sauce before freezing it hard in the freezer. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Great recipe. I used 2 cups cream with 1 cup 2% milk putting all ingredients in the blender and then strained the entire mixture before putting it into the icecream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Ok, I admit that I changed this enough that it doesn't resemble the original.. But it turned out so great, that I would like to share my changes.. I did use 1C of sugar ( I used organic ) and 3C of heavy cream. I scalded these two, then added 2 beaten eggs, which I tempered first.I cooked ( but not boiled! ) it over low heat, stirring constantly, until it coated the back of a spoon, about 10 min.Then I added 1t. of vanilla. I pureed 3 C of fresh raspberries in a blender, and then pushed them through a sieve to remove most of the seeds. I added this to the cooled custard,and chilled it for 4 hours. I used my kitchenaid ice cream maker to freeze it..VERY creamy, like a frozen custard...and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I made this mostly as directed but found it too creamy and not nearly enough raspberries -- even though I used about 3.5 cups. Like one reviewer said, the ice cream tasted kind of like Cool Whip. I was really hoping for the tang and depth of flavor that you get in a good raspberry ice cream. My kids liked it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Delicious. Creamy, fruity and fun! Couple notes: -I increased the raspberries to 2 pints -I pushed the raspberry puree through cheesecloth to get rid of as many seeds as possible -I mixed everything together with the sugar in a bowl, not in the ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Being new at this, I was dreading de-seeding the raspberry puree after blending, but actually, found it a breeze. With a five-inch fine sieve, I happened to use an old spatula. After methodically pressing the puree through for a while, I tired of that and started just whipping the puree, round and round using the flat end of the spatula. Lo and behold, it worked wonderfully. In about 10 minutes I had 3-4 cups of puree and slightly less than a cup of quite dry seeds. And this recipe seems quite easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States