Raspberry Fudge Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I was really excited about this recipe so I attempted to make it for a bake sale at work. I just didn't like how much work it was to make these. I did use aluminum foil in the baking pan, and after I let them cool for a couple minutes I lifted out the aluminum with the brownies in it so it could cool outside of the pan. Then I flipped the brownie brick back into the pan so it was upside down because I couldn't figure out another way to get it back into the pan. When I was making the fudge topping, on my first attempt I ended up with some egg whites in the milk and they cooked into white chunks. Luckily I hadn't discarded the extra milk in the can yet so I re-made the milk mixture. Then I poured it over the brownies and let it cool before attempting the raspberry topping which was a complete failure. I didn't have any frozen cool whip but I did have whipped cream from a can so I figured that would work bu I don't think it did. Then the mix ended up with little chunks of jam that wouldn't break down any more and I ended up over mixing the toping. By then it was clear it wasn't going to work so I just ended up with regular brownies with a fudge topping. They taste good but not much different than any other brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansing, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
These came out beautiful (to look at) AND delicious, I took them to a formal ladies "tea" luncheon/fundraiser and my husband was mad that I only left him one, so I will NEED to make more! I cut them in triangles, as suggested, and that made my tray of treats look perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Masonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This dessert was a big hit. It does take a long time to prepare, but each step is straight forward. The only change I made was I used an egg and a white in the batter, and used the remaining yolk in the fudge layer. I cut the brownies in 16 pieces and it was almost the correct size for a dessert portion. It is rich, so it really doesn't take much to satisfy. The berry flavor is very subtle and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was good. Not the best though. The brownie part came out too cakey I think. But, they were still good. Good tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
These were DELICIOUS! Everyone at the party I attended agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These are AMAZING! Only cut into 16th otherwise the pieces were to small. Everyone loved them. A great celebration treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malloryrh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Love these! I've made them several times and tend to use a box mix (Betty C) for convenience sake. Also, I increase the preserves to 4T for more raspberry flavor and line my 9x9 baking pan with wax or parchment paper for easy removal and cutting. Delicious!! Even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
These were pretty good but not great. It was fun to do something a little different with brownies but I don't know if I will make them again. I thought the topping tasted like raspberry yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Love these brownies. I made them into little brownie bites with my mini muffin tin. After they cooled, I spread the chocolate on top, let them sit in the fridge overnight to set up, and then piped the raspberry cream on top in the morning. I also made the cream the night before and let it sit in the fridge overnight to make it easier to pipe. The flavor combination is terrific, and they are a perfect bite-sized treat for the teacher's lounge at school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Sinfully rich, over the top delicious, oh so chocolately, and absolutely fabulous! I mean to try to describe these brownies using just one word may be virtually impossible, just as impossible as it is to eat just one of these brownies- yes, they're that good. If you're a self proclaimed chocoholic or have ever been accused of being one this is the brownie for you. They are definitely worth the time it takes to make these. I followed the recipe exactly and kept thinking, "Will this be enough?". But, these are so rich that the recipe yield is perfect. I highly recommend using the foil liner in the pan. I used Reynold's non-stick and I also highly recommend rinsing/wiping down your knife between each slice when cutting your brownies. The raspberry is awesome, but I might try using chocolate syrup or even some Bailey's next time to change it up. Another hit right out of the park - Thanks larkspur for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States