Raspberry Coconut Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
OMG!!!! Fantastic, wonderful, dangerously good.... I tried this recipe, took some over to my mom's house to share, her freind came and they had some. Before my mom had a chance to tell me, her friend was calling me for the recipe. That says it all. Very simple to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lower Burrell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I switched things up a bit ;o), I didn't use all the sweetened condensed milk....I used 2/3 of the can maybe 3/4. It was plenty sweet & still set up well. I used lime marmalade instead of raspberry jam & grated the zest from a lime over top. Omitted the semi-sweet chocolate & almost upped the white chocolate to compensate but didn't....was glad because it really didn't need any more. I also used chopped, toasted hazlenuts instead of walnuts. My son has declared these the best cookies I have EVER made & is begging me to make more. Although I can see how they may be too sweet w/out the tartness of the lime to counteract it. Thansk for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Snaps for Diane! This is so wonderfully sweet and chewy and chocolatly. One of the best bars I've made,it was so easy to make. I did use a high quality semisweet and white chocolate which always helps. Also, it helps to run the knife under hot water after each slice so nothing sticks to it and the rows will be much neater and easier to lift. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This was a hit. I doubled the amount of graham cracker crumbs and toasted the coconut. After making the coconut crust and chilling it. I added a layer of cheesecake then chilled it over night. Then continued with the next step of the recipe. Also, I used Lindt dark chocolate truffle and Lindt white chocolate truffle and melted it to pour on top. I also added dark chocolate chips. People were raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi from Maui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I made this last night but left off the semi sweet chocolate and opted to only use white chocolate. It was easy to make and very pretty. It was extremely rich though, a tad too much for my taste. I think the preserves I used were to blame though, will try again with different toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Living In: Randleman, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M. Rees
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was an easy yet very impressive treat. I'm always looking for nice looking bars and this one will go in my favorite recipe collection. It was delicious with the raspberry jam and would also be nice with an apricot jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ross, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halls Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This was an amazing recipe. I brought it to an annual cookie bake off, and they were the first to go :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I have made these for a family reunion and my son's graduation open house and have had many requests for the recipe. I never have any left over. These bars are "to die for" is what I have heard from several people. I use seedless raspberry jam and have used chopped pecans in place of the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
These are extremely sweet, but VERY good! I lined the pan with parchment paper to make it easier to handle them when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This was not good. It tasted liked jam smeared on top of coconut. Maybe if I cooked it again after putting on the jam and chocolate it would be better. I have had similiar bars without the jam and they were a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States