Raspberry Coconut Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I switched things up a bit ;o), I didn't use all the sweetened condensed milk....I used 2/3 of the can maybe 3/4. It was plenty sweet & still set up well. I used lime marmalade instead of raspberry jam & grated the zest from a lime over top. Omitted the semi-sweet chocolate & almost upped the white chocolate to compensate but didn't....was glad because it really didn't need any more. I also used chopped, toasted hazlenuts instead of walnuts. My son has declared these the best cookies I have EVER made & is begging me to make more. Although I can see how they may be too sweet w/out the tartness of the lime to counteract it. Thansk for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
These are to DIE for! So rich and lovely! I have made these twice now, and have given out the recipe many times. People love them! They look impressive, too - someone asked me if I had gone to a bakery to get them. They do take a VERY long time to make because of having to wait for things to set and chill, so make sure that you make these a day or 2 ahead of when you need them - they are not something you can whip up the morning before a party. Just a tip - I had some trouble getting the chocolate to melt to a consistency where it would drizzle prettily. My solution - I heated a pan of water to almost boiling and then turned off the heat. I put the white and semisweet chocolates in different Ziploc bags and placed them in the water to melt. Once they were all melted, I cut off one corner of the bag and voila! Chocolate drizzle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
These are delicious. While they're easy to make, they are a bit time consuming (do a step, wait. do another step, wait) but worth it. I took these to a friend's house this weekend and had to run home after the recipe for her aunt. My four year-old has been very helpful finishing the pan. Take the time to toast the walnuts. It makes a difference and lends crunch. I used seedless black raspberry jam. Try them with hot or iced tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruhshellmc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
These are extremely sweet, but VERY good! I lined the pan with parchment paper to make it easier to handle them when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was good, but not great. The combination of chocolate and raspberry is A+, but I think the base could be improved upon. Next time I make this, I will make a lemon or lime pie base by mixing fruit juice in with the sweetened condensed milk so that there are interesting flavors in the base rather than a boring, overwhelming sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I have made these for a family reunion and my son's graduation open house and have had many requests for the recipe. I never have any left over. These bars are "to die for" is what I have heard from several people. I use seedless raspberry jam and have used chopped pecans in place of the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
These bars are very good, however, I thought they were too sweet, and I have the biggest sweet tooth ever! I made them a second time and I used a little less jam (I don't know exactly how much, I just used the rest of the jar from the first time I made these) and I mixed it with a bag of (thawed) frozen raspberries that were slightly mashed but there were still some whole pieces. It was much better! Not overly sweet yet not very tart. It was also nice having some real fruit in there, but it did made the bars a little bit messier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Very good and nice presentation. I thought it was good but my husband and co-workers loved it. My only tip would be to melt the butter in the baking pan then sprinkle the graham cracker crumbs on top. This adds ease to making and had no problems removing from pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M. Rees
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was an easy yet very impressive treat. I'm always looking for nice looking bars and this one will go in my favorite recipe collection. It was delicious with the raspberry jam and would also be nice with an apricot jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ross, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halls Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
These are very good and easy to make! Will be adding these to my list of Christmas baking. Used seedless raspberry preserves, as the seeds seemed like they would just get in the way...just a personal preference. Not having my oven on more than 20 minutes was also a plus. We live in Florida and even though it's December 1st, the air conditioner is still crankin'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States