Raspberry Chocolate Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
FANTASTIC!! My only suggestion is to make sure you beat the butter/margarine for 15-30 seconds before adding the sugar and flour mixture. And you also only have to shape the dough about halfway up the sides of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
These taste phenomenal but I gave them a 4 because you can't make them as written. Since other readers said they were too thin in a 9x13 I made mine in an 11x7, which I think was perfect. However, there's no way you'd get 48 servings out of them, even in a 9x13. In an 11x7 my husband and I each had dessert 3 times, so basically 6 servings. The other problem I have with the directions is step #4. If you're just supposed to sprinkle the chocolate chips and spoon the raspberry mixture on top, you get a lot of crust peeking through. I ended up just spreading it all on top like a frosting, leaving some edge of the crust showing. It looked pretty and evenly distributed the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
My husband thought this recipe was "excellent" It was delicious but I think it could have been even better if I had used a smaller size pan to bake the crust in, making the bars thicker. Also, I did add extra sugar to the raspberries to sweeten them up. Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
Absolutely fantastic, but rich. Be sure and cut into small squares. The crust is wonderfully buttery crumbly; when I baked the crust for the first 15 minutes, it only browned on the edges and seemed a bit loose still, but it turned out wonderfully. And the whole thing will solidfy a bit more once it cools, so don't worry if it all seems just slightly loose after the final baking. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Worth 6 stars! This is an incredible recipe! The combination of chocolate & raspberry is incredible & the shortbreadish crust goes perfectly. What a lovely cookie! I made it in a slightly smaller dish than the recipe asked so my crust was thicker - as a result, I had to cook the crust 3 minutes longer. This recipe is going in my permanent file, I will use it frequently & try different berries (blueberries, blackberries, etc). DE-LISH! Unfortunately, these are far from low in fat - the butter & the chocolate provide plenty of fat - but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brush Prairie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
I found this abit tart on top so I sprinkled it with icing sugar. I also kneeed the dough into a ball then spread it into the pan so it would not be crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
I substituted white chocolate chips. I liked it a lot and it gives the cookies a more grown-up look and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
I did not think these bars were that great. I was expecting more of a thicker, crumbly bar than what this recipe produced. I also thought they were a bit tart. Perhaps using raspberry jam, like someone else suggested, would have made a better tasting dessert. NOTE - the recipe is low fat if you cut them into 48 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
These cookies are delicous & not hard to make either!!! They are my favorite of all the cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Would actually give it 3 1/2 stars, as it tasted all right but I found it very thin even though I used an 8 x 8 pan, and the raspberries on top grow a tough skin quite quickly. I would like to try it with blackberries though, and mess with the recipe a bit, as the basics were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States