Raspberry Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I doubled the amount of filling and made my own crust recipe for a 9-inch pie, and the pie came out great!! Just the right amount of sweetness to balance the tartness of the raspberries and cherries. I'm sure I'll make this often with the raspberries I get from my garden. Thanks for the excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I added more cherries and raspberries and even put in blackberries - very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkieGal
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was a big hit with my husband and his parents. I, like others, used sweet cherries which balanced the tartness of the raspberries. Also, instead of using 2 cups of raspberries, I used 1 cup raspberries and 1 cup blackberries. I also added a bit of cinnamon to the filling. Loved it! I plan to make this again and use more filling as others did. I may even add boysenberry. I also want to try using a basket weave style top crust instead of solid top. Great recipe, and one that I'll keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This is the VERY FIRST PIE I have ever made and it is amazing! I was a little scared at first about doing a home made pie, but the directions are super easy and the filling is just perfect!--THE CRUST IS AMAZING!!! I may just make the crust for snacking next time! I will most definitely make again. Oh--and my boyfriend absolutely loves it! He couldn't even wait to let it fully cool before eating a piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Fantastic! I used 2 cups fresh raspberries, 2 cups fresh Bing cherries, my own pie crust recipe, and I substituted lime juice for the lemon, which gave it a nice zing. I also cut the sugar down from 1.5 cups to 3/4 cup, and it was still delicious; I would think the full amount of sugar would've been way too sweet. Absolutely delicious! I probably could've used 1.5x the filling, as I had a deep dish pie plate, which could've held a good deal more. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
The absolute best pie ever! The only thing i would change is in the pastry crust i would decrease the salt from 1 1/2 teaspoons to 1 teaspoon. I thought it was a little bit salty, but other than that, great recipe! I made it last week and it was gone in a day and now i am making it again today! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
GREAT recipe! The only modifications I suggest are to double the amount of cherries, if you like a mounded pie, and to play around with the types of cherries. Having made this pie many times, I've found that guests like it best when the tartness of the raspberries is balanced with sweet cherries. Another benefit of sweet cherries is that they are often larger and firmer than their sour cousins. I think that the sweet cherries have a great look and texture for pies. When I can't use fresh cherries, I use frozen, but I don't like canned, jarred, or reconstituted dried cherries for pies. If I can't get fresh or frozen cherries, I'd rather make a different kind of pie... A lot of dried, frozen, canned, and jarred cherries don't mention the type of cherry they use, which is unfortunate because all cherries are not alike. If you can, try to hunt down Rainier sweet cherries, and if you really want to use sour cherries, look for Montmorency. The pie crust is fabulous, easy, and totally worth making. If you have your own favorite crust recipe, use it, but don't use a store-bought crust. This pie deserves better! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
My mom has made Cherry Berry pie for years, but it has never been one of my favorites because of all the raspberry seeds. However, I made this recipe for company, and it was a hit! The flavor was great (despite all the seeds) :-) I used my mom's crust recipe, which is similar to this one, fresh-picked raspberries, and a crumb topping. We ate the pie when it was still warm, so it was a bit runny. Maybe it will firm up a bit as it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Mixed reviews from our house on this. Hubs LOVED this, while I thought it was a tad sweet, even though I had cut back a little on the sugar to begin with. According to hubs he wouldn't have liked this any less sweet because of the tartness of the fruit. I used dried cherries that I had reconstituted in boiling water for about 20 minutes. In addition, realizing that a mere three cups of fruit would make for a very thin pie, I used 1-1/2 times the filling amount and found it perfect. I brushed the top with an egg wash of 1 egg yolk and 1 T. half and half. What I was most impressed with was the crust. I already knew vinegar and shortening help make a crust flaky, and sugar and egg make it rich and flavorful, but I have never used baking powder in a pie crust until now. And this crust was wonderful -light, flaky, and a nice contrast to the sweet/tart filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This pie is great! In fact I have made 2 this week, and the one I made yesterday my husband has all ready devoured. I don’t know about the pastry recipe that is with it because I didn’t use it. Everyone in my family is very picky about their crusts, so I didn’t want to chance trying something different from what I all ready make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States