Raspberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
;(I followed the recipe exactly, but the cake hardly rose, it was flat and it sank on the sides. I was making this cake for a graduation order I got and I just hope they like it. The taste is OK, but just not as good as I was expecting. I made the filling with regular heavy cream and folded fresh raspberries so it tasted a little better with the frosting. It is frustrating when a recipe with so many good reviews just doesn't come out as good for me :( I'll keep looking for a better raspberry cake recipe. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia53bb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
by reading the reviews i wasnt as super crazy... I think it would've been better with Homemade whipped cream on it... it just was such a contrast in flavor... not sweet enough for the topping the cake had a good flavor but I expected a little more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiesinabundle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Did not go over well. The taste is really artificial for having real berries. The texture was dense & moist, which I personally like. However, the taste was not for any of us... I love the idea of a raspberry cake so might try again with the following changes: no jello, extra berries in cake, homemade whipped cream, and frost with cream & then drizzle with a raspberry puree. I think this would make this recipe taste lighter & fresher. But~ taste is so subjective & other reviewers seemed to really like it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
When I first made this cake it was really heavy and I was like oh no this is going to be awful but it was absolutely delicious. The cake was so moist and flavorful. I didn't make the frosting quite the same though. I pureed the raspberries a little then I whipped up a pint of heavy cream and folded the raspberries in with 2 tbsp of powdered sugar. It was a fabulous frosting and I piped it along the edge and in rows on top of the cake and then I put fresh raspberries in alternating rows. It was very pretty and it got rave reviews from my friends. Will be making many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This cake is moist and flavorful. I used a not-too-sweet cream cheese frosting. My only complaint is that the raspberry seeds bothered me - I felt like I was chewing broken egg shells mixed throughout the cake! Maybe I didnt buy a good brand of frozen berries - Im not sure...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This was PERFECT for a decorated cake! It is dense which was great for shaping it into the Barbie skirt for my daughter's birthday cake. It held up perfectly under the fondant and icing and I also sliced it and layered it with cream cheese, buttercream. EVERYONE commented on how moist it was and asked for the recipe. My sister is now making it for her daughter's birthday. I will be making this many more times I am sure. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I made this for a party MINUS the frosting. I used "Sturdy Whipping Cream Frosting" from this site. They were a HUGE hit!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
absolutely loved this recipe! i made it once before and am about to make it again. i made it into cupcakes, filled with lemon curd and topped with white chocolate frosting. definitely a hit with the co-workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I made this for my husband's birthday with 8 inch rounds... We added some sliced almonds around the frosting and used seedless raspberry jam between the layers... Awesome :) The cake doesn't rise much, but it turns out fantastic... and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I've made these cakes for numerous occasions and have been told they are the best people have ever had, and I agree. I followed the recipe for the cake, and used a half whipped cream, half cream cheese frosting as suggested from a previous review. I typically bake the recipe as cupcakes, and they are always very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States