Raspberry Breakfast Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Very good, easy, and quick recipe. I used apricot jam instead of raspberry and it was delicious. I also tried it with cherry pie filling and sprinkled almonds on top of the glaze. The almond extract and cherry flavors compliment each other nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollys Taylor Made Treats

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Attica, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This looks absolutely delicious, and I'd love to make it. But what on earth is "packaged baking mix"? Is it just like a basic pastry dough mix, cake mix, what is it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Packaged baking mix would be something like "Bisquick" -- a baking mix with multiple ingredients in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roslyn, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I thought that this was very easy and flavorful! The cream cheese (I used low fat Neufchatel) is a very nice addition to the crust and it came out nice and flaky. The almond icing adds a lot of flavor but make sure to get the good almond extract. I made the braid the night before, refrigerated it, and baked it off in the morning. It came out perfect and all of the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Kelly

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Very quick and very easy. Just remeber to seal off the ends of your pastry or else you're going to have jelly everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I was very impressed that this simple recipe yielded such a delicious and delicate textured breakfast bread (Much like Struedal). Prep and bake time is very quick. Recommended for guests, brunch or just a yummy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I used homemade blackberry jam for a filling and substituted a mix of lemon & orange extract for the vanilla and almond. The crust was light and flaky, and, as previously mentioned, the touch of cream cheese was a nice addition. For some reason, I'm not too thrilled with the *braid* presentation method - - - I'd like to try this same recipe with more of a danish layout. Will have to play around with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Yummy! I was tempted to add more jam because it didn't look like enough, but I'm glad I didn't...it would have been too sweet. The icing is yummy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I have made this several times, and it is easy and delicious. I have never had a problem with the braiding part, and it looks beautiful when done. The glaze, with the almond flavoring, adds a lot of flavor to this, and I wouldn't make it without. I have only made this with raspberry jam, but I may try it with apricot or blackberry next. Overall, this is a great addition to a breakfast or brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
The crust tasted like "packaged baking mix". Which is what it should taste like however, this wasn't a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States