Raspberry Blackberry Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. It was very tasty and easy to make. However, you need to strain it before drinking, as the blackberry seeds are impossible to ignore. Next time I'll substitute something else for the blackberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Excellent. I used greek yogurt because that was all I had on hand. Made one batch, then turned around and made another because my kids and I loved it so much. Great use of this year's bumper crop of blackberries/raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I have a Vitamix, so that pretty much took care of the seed problem but I can see how this would be an issue without this workhorse of a blender. So I'm not so sure blackberries, with their huge seeds, are the best choice for smoothies. The flavor was good, but we found the banana just a little distracting for a "Raspberry Blackberry Smoothie." I used frozen berries, so the ice cubes weren't necessary, but a little milk to thin it out was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
We really enjoyed this smoothie. Followed the recipe and they are very refreshing. Hubby is on a smoothie kick, as he wants to find a replacement for coffee on his commute in the morning. He asked for a raspberry/blackberry combo and I was happy to find this one. It is extremely easy with ingredients I had on hand. My fridge makes smaller ice cubes so I added a little more and it was perfect. Will make this often this summer. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
The flavor was good. However, it's pretty thick and there's really no liquid (milk or juice) to help get this blended up well. I'm not fond of smoothies with bits of fruit left and some liquid is what helps them blend up really smooth. It also just got stuck in the blender a lot. So there was a bit of a hassle factor involved. Also, as someone else pointed out -- the seeds. Blackberries and raspberries both end up with a lot of seed to contend with, and while the suggestion to strain it is a really good one (which I will try on other smoothies), I just don't see how to strain something thick like this through something that would catch seeds. Therefore, even though I liked the taste, I don't think I'd want to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Almost like mine. But I cook the blackberries and raspberries to soften and put through a strainer to remove the seeds and have a puree. Freeze 1st until they are ice cubes and only use 1/2 banana. I use organic cane sugar instead of honey if needed, because I'm not a honey fan. If it is too thick I add some V8 fusion Goji raspberry or Acai raspberry juice. That juice also adds some veggies to it as well. The puree and some fresh crushed berries also works when making a yogurt parfait with whole grain granola cereal and walnuts. 1 layer of yogurt your choice 1 layer crushed fruit and the a little puree. Again your choice of fruit 1 layer cereal and walnuts. Repeat until the glass of your choice is full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
In place of ice cubes, you can thin this smoothie with any favorite liquid from juice to milk. I had to strain the drink because the drink with seeds was too gritty. Then, it was smooth and wonderful! For a thin smoothie, leave out the banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Excellent! So refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
To use up what I had, I used frozen blackberries, fresh blueberries and fat free raspberry yogurt. Instead of ice, I added some peach juice so it wasn't as thick (for my husband). It was delicious but rated 4 because of the blackberry seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Good, but the seeds are a problem and a little heavy on banana. I substituted 1/2 cup strawberries and 1 cup blueberries for the blackberries and raspberries, and only used 1/2 banana. Still had some seeds, but not nearly as many. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States