Raspberry and Strawberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
Excellent recipe. I used my own, frozen, raspberries for the entire recipe (since I didn't have any strawberries on hand). I didn't have any yogurt, either, so I replaced it with sour cream. It came out delicious (albeit with more calories per serving...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I made the recipe exactly as written, except for reducing the cooking time significantly, as suggested by a previous reviewer. My buckle only needed 50 minutes. The reviewer who disliked this recipe the most thought the batter was too thick, and attempted to thin it out... ignore this suggestion, as buckle batters are generally more thick than most people are used to seeing. Also be sure to use non-expired baking powder or the buckle may collapse when removed from the oven... this would lead to a much less pleasant texture. Beware that the fresh baking powder increases the chances of the buckle overflowing the pan, and using another reviewer's suggesting of a higher-sided springform pan is a great way to avoid that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
1/2 butter, 2 cups flour, 1/2 cup sugar, 3/4 cup plain yogurt, and an egg..... sound dry? It sure was for me! It kept crawling up my beaters like a heavy dough... I added about a cup of milk to this "batter" and still had to s-t-r-e-t-c-h it to smooth it in the pan. The topping was less than thrilling. The flavour, well, aside from the berries there was no flavour. This was too dense and was not desert-like enough for me. I will not make this again. It wasn't horrible, it was edible and looked ok, but I don't want to have to keep trying different variations. I will find a similar, but better recipe on this site. Hubby and I both give it a 3. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I don't know why my experience with this was so much different than most others, but for me this was a total flop on a number of fronts, some I should have anticipated. First, with a glass baking dish as this recipe calls for, the heat is too high - it should be reduced by 25 degrees to 350 degrees. Second, I am quite familar with buckles so I know the batter is thick - but this was even thicker than most, sticky, and difficult to spread. Third, for this size pan two pints of fruit is too much. Were I to make this again (and I'm sure I won't) I would either use half as much fruit, a pan with taller sides, or a larger pan altogether. I don't know if my pints are larger than others' pints, but this overflowed the pan and made a mess in my oven. (The bright side of that is that my oven got cleaned afterward) Finally, the baking time is off, particularly if you're using a glass pan - start checking this at 50 minutes, 25 minutes less than what the recipe states! Finally, the topping, which I assumed would be a streusel, is greasy, even to the touch, and unattractive. I was curious, so after this debacle I checked other, similar, recipes and sure enough, the butter should be HALF the amount called for! This was a disaster but sort of an ugly duckling (I'm wondering if this is why the only picture posted for this to date is by AllRecipes!) because it did taste good. This has potential if you care to work with it, but as written, with no changes, this is a very weak two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is the first buckle I've ever made. It was a little hard to spread the batter, but the recipe is very versitale and I can see any number of fruits being used along with the strawberries and raspberries. It smelled great in the oven and had a nice flavor - not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
This was a very good recipe but I didn't use neither raspberries nor strawberries, I used blueberries. The only suggestions I have to make is that when you're making the topping do not use a half cup of butter because the topping will come out too moist. I made several attempts at the topping until I realized that you only need to use a 1/4 cup of butter to get the right consistency for the topping. Also the recipe says to bake the buckle for an hour and fifteen minutes but you only need to bake it a little over an hour. Other than the few things I needed to change this was the best buckle recipe that I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
Very good recipe-would suggest using a bigger baking dish, the one I made overflowed in the oven. Used half of the butter for the topping, raspberries, strawberries and blueberries, and buttermilk instead of yogurt and it still tasted really good. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Call it buckle, call it coffee cake. Either way, this is a delicious cake to have for breakfast, with tea, or for dessert. Only change was to reduce the butter in the topping to 1/4 of a cup. Turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I used fat free sour cream in place of the yogurt and raspberries and blueberries for the fruit -- I did not change the topping at all -- I used a springform pan and it was a little tough to spread but tasted delicious when it's done -- going to make another one using peaches this week! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
This is the only Buckle I have ever made. I used a 9'' springform pan, and about 1 1/2 pints of raspberries and 1/2 pint strawberries as it was all I had on hand. I was very pleased with the results, although, even cutting back on the butter somewhat, my crumb topping wasn't "crumby", and next time I will only use 1/4 cup. I will definetly be making this again, with the proper revision of 1/4 cup butter I expect 5 star buckle results :) Thanks Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States