Raspberry and Strawberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Not very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hermiston, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This cake (as most, with crumble toppings) doesn't look so hot the next day, but I keep toasting a piece and I'm surprised at how much I love it, each time. Might try strawberries and wild Maine blueberries next time as I am not hot on the raspberry seeds. This cake almost tastes like it has a little sour cream or cream cheese in it. A really great coffee cake. The topping is really good, but I will use 1/2 the butter next time (1/4 cup as previously suggested) - I also had problems with bubbling over and richness. Really fast and easy to make, to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Very nice recipe. I used fresh strawberries and blueberries, and subed 1/2 the flour for whole wheat (trying to be healthy) Turned out great! Added lots more nutmeg ans cinnamon then called for :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
This was wonderful! Great with coffee. I might put some melted butter on in next time I cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTENW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I used all Strawberries and it turned out pretty good. Next time I will mix the berries with the dough instead of spreading them on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
1/2 butter, 2 cups flour, 1/2 cup sugar, 3/4 cup plain yogurt, and an egg..... sound dry? It sure was for me! It kept crawling up my beaters like a heavy dough... I added about a cup of milk to this "batter" and still had to s-t-r-e-t-c-h it to smooth it in the pan. The topping was less than thrilling. The flavour, well, aside from the berries there was no flavour. This was too dense and was not desert-like enough for me. I will not make this again. It wasn't horrible, it was edible and looked ok, but I don't want to have to keep trying different variations. I will find a similar, but better recipe on this site. Hubby and I both give it a 3. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
This is the only Buckle I have ever made. I used a 9'' springform pan, and about 1 1/2 pints of raspberries and 1/2 pint strawberries as it was all I had on hand. I was very pleased with the results, although, even cutting back on the butter somewhat, my crumb topping wasn't "crumby", and next time I will only use 1/4 cup. I will definetly be making this again, with the proper revision of 1/4 cup butter I expect 5 star buckle results :) Thanks Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
This was a very good recipe but I didn't use neither raspberries nor strawberries, I used blueberries. The only suggestions I have to make is that when you're making the topping do not use a half cup of butter because the topping will come out too moist. I made several attempts at the topping until I realized that you only need to use a 1/4 cup of butter to get the right consistency for the topping. Also the recipe says to bake the buckle for an hour and fifteen minutes but you only need to bake it a little over an hour. Other than the few things I needed to change this was the best buckle recipe that I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
I used blueberries and strawberries and prepared this in a springform pan for my sister's baby shower. Beautiful presentation and tons of requests for the recipe. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Great tasting, even better the next day. I used raspberries and blackberries instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States