Raspberry and Strawberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
OMG! This is soooooo good! I just picked a bunch of strawberries and didn't know what to do with them, so I tried this recipe. So glad I did! I made with all strawberries, because I didn't have raspberries. I also made with Greek yogurt and it was fine. I can see making this with all different types of fruit. Oh, and I listened to other reviewers and did not keep it in the oven much more than an hour. I took it out around 63 minutes and it was fine. It was hard to tell, because the berries made the cake really syrupy, but I'm glad I took the gamble. I think it would have burned otherwise. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Pera Reznik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Wonderful recipe. I didn't have yogurt, so I used sour cream instead; and I used all strawberries because I didn't have any other fruit on hand. I made this 'buckle' for a church gathering yesterday and it was gone in seconds. Everyone loved it and so many people asked for the recipe. Thanks for sharing Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Call it buckle, call it coffee cake. Either way, this is a delicious cake to have for breakfast, with tea, or for dessert. Only change was to reduce the butter in the topping to 1/4 of a cup. Turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alamp02
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
My whole family loved this. We ate it warm with vanilla ice cream. I didn't have strawberries so just doubled the raspberries. Also, used lowfat vanilla yogurt. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. Only cooked it for about 65 minutes and it was perfectly done. Easy as....pie! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Fantastic! I loved it just the way it is. But the best part is that it still tasted good after a few healthier modifications: I used whole wheat flour, halved the sugar and butter, added extra yogurt, and doubled the fruit and eggs and then served it to my kids as a healthy lunch. It's great with blueberries, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
OMG, this was delicious!! I had to use blueberries and strawberries instead of raspberries (my raspberries went bad) but it was amazing! The flavor was superb. Thanks for everyone's reviews, I cut the butter in half (1/4c) for the crumble topping and it was perfect. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla and cooked the buckle for only an hour. Perfect! One additional thing I did was to dust the berries with cinnamon and sugar before I put the crumble on top. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
So delicious! Even my picky eaters are eating this one! Like others said though, 1 hour 15 min is a bit too long. I should have taken it out after an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I made this with just fresh strawberries and everyone raved. I used a bundt pan and reversed the order of the layers. I put the crumb topping on the bottom, then the strawberries, and then the batter. I only had to cook it for 40 minutes. I let it cool for 20 minutes then turned the cake upside down on to a plate. Sprinkled powder sugar on top and it look great! Making it again today with mixed berries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccrobinson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! Instead of using a flour crumble on top, we used rolled oats - everything else was the same. We also reduced the cook time to an hour and it turned out wonderfully. Make this and you won't end up with something that will disappoint you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I used fat free sour cream in place of the yogurt and raspberries and blueberries for the fruit -- I did not change the topping at all -- I used a springform pan and it was a little tough to spread but tasted delicious when it's done -- going to make another one using peaches this week! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States