Raspberry and Apricot Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
These are super delicious and very pretty cookies. They are a little time consuming but worth it. I made the variation with brown sugar and apricot spread. I added the brown sugar to the sugar nut mixture and sprinkled it over the apricot spread that I brushed on the dough. I used no sugar added preserves because that was all I had on hand. At first they were oozing a bit and I thought they would be too soggy but after a little more time in the oven, they were perfect. These are a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Just made these cookies and they are wonderful. Really awesome flavor. I would recommend watching the amount of raspberry jam you spread on the dough. My first batch really oozed and I didn't transfer immediately to cool. The result was not so great. Cookies stuck to foil like cement. After I adjusted my jam they are great! I found that transfering to a piece of parchment paper was perfect for cooling. Enjoy this yummy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I tried this recipe for the first time for my Aunt and Uncle for Hanukkah. My uncle is Jewish, my Aunt (and family) are not. I bought a Hanukkah card which had a reference to rugelach, so I found out what it was and decided to try it. I find that this recipe calls for speed when handling the dough from frig to oven. Also the amount of raspberry filling had to be cut in half due to the fact that the first batch burnt because of the filling spilling out from the insides while baking. I basically painted the filling on with my pastry brush and that was all I used. I had better luck with the second batch and plan on making it again as with only half the cookies(to give away) there aren't any for me! I did try them and they were delicious!!! ***************************************** Ok, I made these again and thought I'd share a tip concerning handling the dough. When I make these, I now separate the dough into 4 equal pieces. I take each individual piece and put it between two pieces of wax paper (before refrigerating), I then roll out the dough, while it's between the wax paper and refrigerate them with the wax paper intact. After 10 minutes or so, just peel off the top layer of wax paper and continue with the recipe. It makes it sooo much easier. Trust me! Good luck:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Quite a bit of work (time wise, not in difficulty)for an amateur baker, but worth the effort. I followed advice from another rugelach recipe to put the rugelach into the fridge for 20 minutes before baking. This was great as I needed that much time to get two trays of rugelach ready. Even my 3 year old loves these (I made mine without walnuts). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gal Benron
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Not worth the effort of making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gal Benron

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haifa, Mehoz Hefa, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Easy as pie! and soo good. I added Almond extract to the pastry dough. You would not beleive the aroma that comes out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuddeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thetford Forest, Norfolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
These were alot of work, but they were good. Very different tasting, but delicious. Thanx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Great recipe, although I've always substituted different items for the raspberry and apricot--blackberry/pecan and apricot/almond make great changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
First time I tried rugelach and they turned out great. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
thanks Holly! have been making this cookie for three years on our annual 'cookie day'! everyone looks forward to them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States