Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Julie Kay
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
First time baker. Not too bad. I used the end of a 1/2 tablespoon to make the indent. My jam exploded too after reading the reviews a lot of people had this problem. Although my jam exploded still came out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
These cookies turned awesome and the family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
i just made this recipe and it turned out wonderful but my only question is: Are you supposed to use Salted Butter or Unsalted Butter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JackieNJones82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This wasn't even dough it ended up being sand!! Would not hold it's shape,tried to roll it into balls and it just fell apart!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We made these cookies for Christmas this year. Loved them! Took the suggestion from another reviewer by decreasing the oven temp by 10 degrees, added 1/4 cup more flour, and placed the cookies in the freezer for 10 mins before baking. They turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
These are my new favorite Christmas cookies. I'd advise chilling the dough for about an hour, making 1 inch balls rather than 1 1/2", and using the end of a big wooden spoon, chapstick end, or 1/2 inch dowel to make the indentation. Be sure to use parchment paper; it helps them brown properly and prevents sticking. I used a sandwich bag for the jam, squeezing it through a snipped-off corner. I'd also double the batch, because they're popular and they freeze well. Don't substitute vanilla for the almond extract; it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I thought these were very good, simple cookies. I chilled the dough in the fridge as suggested in other recipes, and the cookies didn't become overly flat and the jam stayed in place. The icing came out in one big ball though, so I kept having to add milk to thin it out. I'd love to try adding chopped walnuts to this to give it a little something extra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
After reading other reviews, I added an extra 1/4 cup of flour (but needed a tiny bit of milk for moistness), I rolled the balls small and used a chapstick to make the indentation. I then put them outside (it's winter in the Yukon...no need to use the freezer to chill!) for 10-15 mins and baked for 15 mins, turning pan around about 1/2 way through. They were so pretty and turned out perfect. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
What many people fail to realize when baking is that different flours have different absorbtion rates. It is better to put in a little less than check the consistency. If it is too wet than add more flour until it all holds together but is not dry. Refrigerating any butter based cookie dough usually makes it less sticky and easier to roll into balls. Also, chilling before baking helps them not flatten so much. This is an exellent recipe. I used melted white chocolate instead of the frosting for the tops. I don't like almond flavor so I used vanilla and I always use brown sugar instead of white when I can, I just like the flavor better. I have been baking for 50 years and I do know cookie doughs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
great recipe. cookies came out as expected. would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States